Does 5e need its own, original TOMB OF HORRORS?

Poll: Should 5e have its own "Tomb of Horrors" type module?

This poll will close on Thursday, 22nd November, 2018 at 06:57 PM

Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Does 5e need its own, original TOMB OF HORRORS?

So I was doing some research on another thread regarding Tomb of Horrors,* and while I was reading I began to think of the place of Tomb of Horrors in the D&D Canon. Because it's there.

If you're of a certain age, you know Tomb of Horrors. Heck, you probably have a Tomb of Horrors story. I would go so far as to say that there is no single person from the 70s/80s era who DOESN'T have Tomb of Horrors story (or, perhaps, they just never played it). It's like that scene in Alien ... it's part of the cultural DNA.**

So Tomb of Horrors has been updated, most recently to 5e (Yawning Portal!), but I would argue that it is now mostly a nostalgia and period piece. You can't go in to it fresh. I mean, sure, there are probably some complete newbies that haven't heard of it. But TOH is such a part of D&D, and nerd culture in general, and such a relic of a particular time and place and style, it is hard to come in fresh.

But what about the concept? What made TOH so special, so memorable? I would argue that what made it so amazing is that it was .... atypical. It was the antidote to most adventuring of the time. You had people clamoring for stats on deities so that they could whomp them? Well, let's give 'em a challenge! And that's what it was- the consummate challenge. It wasn't just tough; it was too tough. It was absurdly insanely tough, of a variety different than the usual toughness. It was saying, "You like them jalapenos? Well, how about this Carolina Reaper? LET'S KICK THINGS UP A NOTCH!" It wasn't unfair, but it was insanely challenging.