Monk rule question: Stun, how many times?
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1

    Orcus on an Off-Day (Lvl 22)

    Ancalagon's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    5,609

    Monk rule question: Stun, how many times?

    The scenario.

    Jinn Lee, the level 7 Monk, is facing a Frogmoth. She knows it's a very dangerous monster and has to be disabled before it gets to do damage to her party. She is full of ki. So she readies her magical spear and moves in and does her best to stun the monster. However, the Frogmoth has a great con save, and resists the first attempt.

    Can she:

    1: That was it for this round, better luck next round
    2: Attempt with every attack, including her flurry of blows
    3: Attempt again, but only a maximum of twice per round, as the bonus attack(s) are unarmed only and are not melee weapon attacks?

    I'm aware that this is very expensive, Ki wise, but the party has *two* monks...

    Thanks!

  2. #2

    Grandmaster of Flowers (Lvl 18)



    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Augusta, GA
    Posts
    1,569
    2

    The answer is #2.
    XP ehenning, Harzel, CydKnight gave XP for this post

  3. #3

    Superhero (Lvl 15)



    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Portland, OR, USA
    Posts
    1,476
    Pretty much #2, except that the attack must hit in order to allow Stunning Strike to be attempted (but you probably knew that).

  4. #4

    Grandfather of Assassins (Lvl 19)



    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    2,103
    Quote Originally Posted by Ancalagon View Post
    3: Attempt again, but only a maximum of twice per round, as the bonus attack(s) are unarmed only and are not melee weapon attacks?
    Clarification for you here, and I promise it will make sense if you think about it.

    Unarmed strikes are not weapons. That makes sense right, you're not actually holding a weapon.

    Attacking with an unarmed strike is a melee weapon attack. This is where 5e could be a little more clear in the wording.

    There are 4 possible attacks

    Melee weapon attack
    Melee spell attack
    Ranged weapon attack
    Ranged spell attack

    So an unarmed strike needs to be 1 of those 4 types. So it counts as a weapon attack (b/c it isn't a spell) but does not count as a weapon for things that affect weapons (because it is your body, not an object).

    Hope that makes sense.
    XP Sword of Spirit, Phazonfish gave XP for this post

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Similar Threads

  1. Monk Rule Questions
    By walalarga in forum *Pathfinder, Starfinder, Older D&D Editions (4E, 3.x, 2E, 1E, OD&D), D&D Variants, OSR
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Wednesday, 24th February, 2010, 04:44 AM
  2. Monk house rule
    By pbd in forum *Pathfinder, Starfinder, Older D&D Editions (4E, 3.x, 2E, 1E, OD&D), D&D Variants, OSR
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: Wednesday, 5th October, 2005, 05:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •