D&D 5E Polymorph is a bad de-buff spell

Retreater

Legend
I'm studying in prep to run a night hag coven and thought I should polymorph the party's fighter (turning him into a toad seems thematically appropriate.)
But all that needs to happen, basically, is a party member swats the frog, does some minor damage to kill it, and the spell is broken.
It seems like Hold Person is a better spell for taking out a combatant, and it's lower level.
With easy ways around spells, saves at the end of every turn to get rid of bad conditions, it seems 5e enemy casters are very lousy.

It's not great as a debuff, but it has it's uses. I would totally polymorph the fighter. But I'd wait until he was close, so one of the hags could pick him up or something. Make it harder for the party to just hit him to break the spell. And even if they do, it has hopefully used up two characters turns (the fighter, hopefully, and whoever hits him).
5e enemy casters are just as powerful as PC casters. For Hold Person, you could cast it at a higher level to hit multiple characters. Even just sitting out one round can swing a battle. Or at least make it feel more threatening to the players.

shadowoflameth

Adventurer
So turn him into something big but not dangerous like a slow moving ooze or shark (in the desert) something less threatening than the fighter but with some HP.

Tales and Chronicles

Jewel of the North, formerly know as vincegetorix
Another ''good'' option, if you want to use hags as devious, plotting creatures instead of BBEG that fights toe-to-toe with the party, is to polymorph a player into a small creatures that doesnt have a swim speed and cant breath under water, then drop him in a pond or fish tank, whatever. Drowning in 5e can kill you but doest deal damage, so it would revert the spell :p

Blue

Ravenous Bugblatter Beast of Traal