WoR - Races - Evolution vs. Deity Created

MatrexsVigil

First Post
Hi folks!

For the World of Ro, I'm debating on how much 'evolutional' realism I should worry about when detailing and stating the races. As races created directly by their patron god, how much biological detail should I go into?

-P.C.

Ron

Explorer
BiggusGeekus said:
"High fantasy"? None, unless you have a biology degree and a madding desire to use it.

I have a biology degree and I see no point of trying to integrate evolution theory with high fantasy.

MatrexsVigil

First Post
My browser isn't the most reliable, so I apologize for the triple thread post. :eek:

To give an example of how biologically detailed I was talking about...

The Telek are a race of humanoid bird people who were created by the god of Commerce. In order to be useful to their deity, they were created to be fast runners who could keep up their speed for hours on end. Always darting from place to place, from village to city, they would never have anytime to properly lay eggs and incubate them like other birds. Instead, the females lay their egg and then put them in a pouch, much like a kangroo. When the egg was ready to hatch, the mother would stop just long enough to help the chick break free and strengthen their leg muscles. Then the baby would be back in the pouch, slowly becoming as strong as the adults with every passing day. Over time, the Telek fully integrated into urban society and accepted the use of magi-tech transportation. They still keep their chicks in pouches until they are almost a year old, not because they need to but because it's comforting and 'right'.

Too much thought into the real life logistics of such a traveling race or just common sense?

-P.C.

Mordane76

First Post