Two Weapon Fighting and Combat Expertise





+ Log in or register to post
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Two Weapon Fighting and Combat Expertise

    I am wondering how two wepon fighting and combat expertise work together. For instance if I am fighting with two weapons and want to use combat experise do I penalize my attacks with both weapons in order to gain the AC bonus? or can I designate one weapon as the defensive weapon and attack as per normal two weapon fighting with the other? I nkow that a charcater can take two weapon defense and gain a small off hand shield bonus to AC, but can you use you off hand weapon as the defensive weapon for combat expertise?

    Much thanks for all your help.

 

  • #2
    Registered User
    Acolyte (Lvl 2)

    Raduin711's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Council Bluffs, Iowa
    Posts
    328
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Ignore Raduin711
    Quote Originally Posted by pbd
    I am wondering how two wepon fighting and combat expertise work together. For instance if I am fighting with two weapons and want to use combat experise do I penalize my attacks with both weapons in order to gain the AC bonus? or can I designate one weapon as the defensive weapon and attack as per normal two weapon fighting with the other? I nkow that a charcater can take two weapon defense and gain a small off hand shield bonus to AC, but can you use you off hand weapon as the defensive weapon for combat expertise?

    Much thanks for all your help.

    Combat Expertise asks for a decrease to BAB, and since both attacks are based on BAB, the decrease should be applied to both attacks.

    Keep in mind that you can only take off as many points to your attack roll as you have BAB; so if your fighter has a bab of +1 and a strength bonus of +3, and you want to use combat exp, the most you could decrease from your attack roll is 1.

  • #3
    Registered User
    Acolyte (Lvl 2)

    Darklone's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    11,451
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Ignore Darklone
    COMBAT EXPERTISE [GENERAL]
    Prerequisite: Int 13.
    Benefit: When you use the attack action or the full attack action in melee, you can take a penalty of as much as 5 on your attack roll and add the same number (+5 or less) as a dodge bonus to your Armor Class. This number may not exceed your base attack bonus. The changes to attack rolls and Armor Class last until your next action.
    Normal: A character without the Combat Expertise feat can fight defensively while using the attack or full attack action to take a 4 penalty on attack rolls and gain a +2 dodge bonus to Armor Class.
    Special: A fighter may select Combat Expertise as one of his fighter bonus feats.
    Sadly, it's not written as clearly as Power Attack, but it makes sense to apply it to all attack rolls in this rounds action. Otherwise, as written (and interpreted very badly), you might apply it to your last attack and enjoy the AC boost till next round.
    Shilsen: Remember, as a wise man once said, physics is a house rule.
    Charwoman Gene: Hello, you seem greedy and prone to violence, want to go camping together for the rest of our lives?
    Celebrim:... + 5 (+5 enchancement bonus) ...
    Shilsen: I read the strip and felt a great disturbance in the Farce, as if a million voices cried out in terror, "No!! The XX eyes!!" and were suddenly silenced.
    BlackSeed_Vash: Does the fighter/bard have a +X Greataxe Shock/Shocking Burst, for that feel good electric axe feel?!

    Do you think your dice are lucky? Read this.

  • #4
    However, a magical weapon with the defending property doesn't affect your attack bonus with other weapons, and the AC enhancement bonus stacks with everything including another defending weapon.
    There's no better laugh than the one you're too ashamed to share with your mother.
    Stephen Notley, creator of Bob the Angry Flower

    You know what they say about blind prostitutes... You really gotta hand it to them.
    Fred Willard

  • #5
    Its not as clear as Power attack but it does say attack rolls I say it affects all rolls that round. Since it is part of a attack action or a full attack action it affects all the attacks. You can't choose just one attack of a full attack to affect.

    BTW it doesn't penalize or subtract from BAB though it is limited by it.
    If characters don't go out of their way to keep themselves alive... why should I?

  • #6
    Registered User
    Novice (Lvl 1)

    Vrecknidj's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    991
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Ignore Vrecknidj
    How about a new feat?

    Two-Weapon Parry
    Prerequisites: BAB +6, Combat Expertise, Two-Weapon Defense, Two-Weapon Fighting
    Benefit: When fighting with two weapons, you may select one of your weapons as an offensive weapon and the other as a defensive weapon. In effect, you may apply your Combat Expertise dodge bonus to armor class from one of the two weapons and not have the associated attack penalty apply to the other weapon. Your offensive weapon's attacks drop by -2.
    Note: With Two-Weapon Defense, your off-hand weapon grants you a shield bonus to your defense. When using Two-Weapon Parry, you gain a dodge bonus (see Combat Expertise), you do not gain the shield bonus (from Two-Weapon Defense). You may, of course, choose to use Two-Weapon Defense instead of Two-Weapon Parry on any given round.

    Example: Drest wields two kukris with attack bonuses of +12/+7/+2 and +12/+7 (he has Improved Two-Weapon Fighting). He's going up against a monster that he's not sure he can adequately protect himself against. So, he chooses to drop his off-hand attacks to +7/+2 and boost his AC by +5. His primary weapon's attacks become +10/+5/+0.

    If he gets an attack of opportunity after his turn this round but before his next turn next round, he uses the weapon he's using offensively (in the example case, +10) to make that attack of opportunity.
    Last edited by Vrecknidj; Wednesday, 14th July, 2004 at 01:54 PM. Reason: Clarification

  • #7
    Registered User
    Acolyte (Lvl 2)

    dcollins's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    4,110
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Ignore dcollins
    Well, there's already "Off-Hand Parry" from Sword & Fist that lets you trade all off-hand attacks for a +2 dodge bonus to AC.

  • #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Raduin711
    Combat Expertise asks for a decrease to BAB, and since both attacks are based on BAB, the decrease should be applied to both attacks.
    Just a nit pick... combat expertise in no way decreases your base attack bonus. It is just a penalty to attack rolls which cannot exceed your base attack bonus. If it actually decreased your BAB, you would receive fewer attacks, stop being qualified for feats, etc etc... obviously not what was intended by the feat.

    As for the original question - I'm sure the intention was for it to work just like power attack - before making an attack for a round, you may designate a penalty to hit which cannot exceed your BAB. Until the beginning of your next turn, you get a dodge bonus to AC equal to the penalty. This penalty to attacks affects all attacks until the beginning of your next turn.

    To make it short - you get the penalty on both attacks, not just one hand. Think of it not as defending with one weapon, but an attack style that alters how you attack regardless of what you attack with.

    -The Souljourner
    Never give in never, never, never, never, in nothing great or small, large or petty, never give in except to convictions of honour and good sense. Never yield to force; never yield to the apparently overwhelming might of the enemy.

  • #9
    Moderatarrrrh...
    Defender (Lvl 8)

    Hypersmurf's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    25,766
    Reviews
    Read 0 Reviews

    Ignore Hypersmurf
    Quote Originally Posted by The Souljourner
    As for the original question - I'm sure the intention was for it to work just like power attack - before making an attack for a round, you may designate a penalty to hit which cannot exceed your BAB.
    Well, you have to declare it when you take the Attack action or the Full Attack action in melee.

    If you want to attack with both weapons, you have to take the Full Attack action.

    "I take the Full Attack action in melee."
    "Are you using Combat Expertise?"
    "Yes, three points."
    "Make some attack rolls, then."

    -Hyp.

  • + Log in or register to post

    Similar Threads

    1. Combat Expertise and Fighting Defensively
      By Asmor in forum D&D and Pathfinder Rules & Discussion
      Replies: 18
      Last Post: Thursday, 8th March, 2007, 01:29 AM
    2. Combat Expertise and Defensive Fighting
      By Stalker0 in forum D&D and Pathfinder Rules & Discussion
      Replies: 13
      Last Post: Thursday, 21st September, 2006, 03:48 AM
    3. Combat expertise + fighting defensivly
      By marune in forum D&D and Pathfinder Rules & Discussion
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: Wednesday, 14th June, 2006, 09:58 PM
    4. Combat Expertise, Fighting Defensively, Total Defense--combos
      By Phaedrus in forum D&D and Pathfinder Rules & Discussion
      Replies: 8
      Last Post: Wednesday, 17th August, 2005, 10:29 PM
    5. Combat Expertise = Better Defensive Fighting
      By Aristotle in forum D&D and Pathfinder Rules & Discussion
      Replies: 5
      Last Post: Saturday, 12th February, 2005, 06:22 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •