EN World RPG News & ReviewsMorrus' Daily RPG News Updates





  • Morrus' Daily RPG News Updates RSS Feed

    Friday, 22nd August, 2014
    Resources for your 5th Edition Games! 
    [14744/14744 views | Tweet This Article! | Share on Facebook]


    There are many resources springing up around the web - here at EN World, on blogs, in social media, and more. The community has been busy! I felt it might be helpful to list a few of them. This list can't hope to be complete, but I'll include the items I know. If you know of any that you feel deserve inclusion, feel free to drop me an email at morrus@hotmail.com. As always, the best places to keep an eye on are EN World's House Rules/Fan Creations forum and Downloads Area.


    These are the D&D 5E tokens which should be available from Gale Force 9 later this month (August). For more D&D 5E scheduling info, click here!



    Here's a look at the Tyranny of Dragons DM's Screen, coming in September from official D&D licensee Gale Force 9. It's my understanding that a "Deluxe" screen follows in January 2015. For more D&D 5E scheduling info, click here.


    Friday, 22nd August, 2014
    What is OCCULT ADVENTURES? 
    [21827/1508 views | Tweet This Article! | Share on Facebook]


    At Gen Con, Paizo announced Occult Adventures, a Gen Con 2015 release sourcebook for the Pathfinder RPG. There's a video at that link. So what do we know about it?

    Click for more about the Pathfinder RPGIt's another departure from the norm; Paizo has successfully experimented with sending Pathfinder characters to Russia in WWI, hunting the infamous Rasputin; and more recently into a crashed spaceship, along with a technology guide.

    Now they're looking at the occult. They already released Occult Mysteries, of course, but this seems less "magic" and more "psychic". Classes include the Psychic Mage, Kineticist (which looks a lot like "psionicist" but less telepathic and more physical), Spiritualist, and Mystic, all of which will be playtested in public, as Paizo is wont to do.

    Other than that, we know little. The announcement at Gen Con described it as "less Professor X, more Penny Dreadful". Erik Mona told Escapist Magazine that it was X-Files-esque, "a very pulpy book, full of conspiracy theories, new age inspired magic, and psychics".

    So here are the facts as I know them:

    • 6 classes including Psycic Mage, Kineticist, Spiritualist, Mystic
    • Gen Con 2015 release date
    • A bunch of monsters
    • Public playtest is coming

    More if and when I hear it!

    Dungeons & Dragons News





    Pathfinder RPG News

    • Know Direction recorded the Pathfinder announcements panel at Gen Con last week. "Paizo and guests from Obsidian Entertainment discuss what is in store for Pathfinder in the upcoming year. Occult Adventures hard cover is announced as well as Races of Golarion hard cover for the Campaign Setting line." For those who can't watch the video, there's a text summary here.




    Pirate Loot

    Pirate Loot is a Kickstarter by Pathfinder's Jason Bulmahn. It's "a card game of Treasure and Treachery for 2 to 4 players. Designed by Jason Bulmahn with art by Scott Kurtz and Dylan Meconis".

    In Pirate Loot, players take turns recruiting crew to join their ship, hoping to have the best possible crew when the ships set sail in search of the haul. Win the round to get your hands on the most valuable loot, but beware! Just because you claimed the loot does not mean you get to keep it! Pirate Loot will come in a convenient 2-part box, holding all 108 cards you need to play and the rulebook. Click on the pirate card box below for more!


    And Finally...

    I seem to have acquired things at a prodigious rate over the past month! So much stuff, so little time...




    Want some scoopage on WotC's 2015 offerings? It appears that Kobold Press isn't alone in designing for D&D 5th Edition. After Tyranny of Dragons, Sasquatch Studios has been hired to produce Adventurer's Handbook and Princes of the Apocalypse. Sasquatch, made up of veteran game designers Richard Baker, Stephen Click for more about D&DSchubert, and David Noonan, is known for its recent Primeval Thule kickstarter project. Thanks to Kettite for the scoop! So what do we know about these products? No cover images yet, but I do have the following information. It sounds to me like ELEMENTAL EVIL is the story arc to follow TYRANNY OF DRAGONS, and that Princes of the Apocalypse is the first part of that storyline, so I wouldn't be surprised to learn of a second adventure by Sasquatch. That's just guesswork, though. [112 comments]

    Adventurer's Handbook (March 17, 2015; hardcover; $39.95) -- A Dungeons & Dragons Accessory.

    Create Heroic Characters to Conquer the Elements in this Accessory for the World’s Greatest Roleplaying Game

    Not inherently evil, elemental power can be mastered by those with both malevolent and benign intentions. The Elemental Evil Adventurer’s Handbook provides everything that players need to build a character that is tied directly into the Elemental Evil story arc, with skills, abilities, and spells meant to augment their play experience throughout the campaign. Additionally, valuable background and story information provides greater depth and immersion.

    An accessory that expands the number of options available for character creation for the Elemental Evil story arc, providing expanded backgrounds, class builds, and races meant specifically for this campaign.

    Provides background and setting information critical to having the greatest chance of success.

    Accessory design and development by Sasquatch Game Studio LLC.

    Princes of the Apolcalypse (March 17, 2015; hardcover; $49.95) -- A Dungeons & Dragons Adventure.

    Abolish an Ancient Evil Threatening Devastation in this Adventure for the World’s Greatest Roleplaying Game

    Called by the Elder Elemental Eye to serve, four corrupt prophets have risen from the depths of anonymity to claim mighty weapons with direct links to the power of the elemental princes. Each of these prophets has assembled a cadre of cultists and creatures to serve them in the construction of four elemental temples of lethal design. It is up to adventurers from heroic factions such as the Emerald Enclave and the Order of the Gauntlet to discover where the true power of each prophet lay, and dismantle it before it comes boiling up to obliterate the Realms.

    A super-adventure for the Elemental Evil story arc, Princes of the Apocalypse provides everything a Dungeon Master needs to create an exciting and memorable play experience.

    Fans of the DUNGEONS & DRAGONS Roleplaying Game can get a sample of what this product has in store for them through the D&D Encounters(TM) in-store play program.

    Adventure design and development by Sasquatch Game Studio LLC.

    Wednesday, 20th August, 2014
    Loot from GEN CON! And a lot of thanks! 
    [51364/18428 views | Tweet This Article! | Share on Facebook]


    I need to thank a few people.

    WotC provided a signed Player's Handbook as a prize for the D&D Next Adventure Contest I held earlier this year. The winner was Will Doyle with his adventure Mind Blast!, as judged by Sean K Reynolds, Keith Baker, and Kevin Kulp. Thank you to WotC's Trevor Kidd for arranging it!



    Dave Rosser, who I am glad to call a friend, and who has many times saved EN World from the brink of technical disaster, heard that I was trying to find a copy of an old Warhammer boxed set I used to own 30 years ago, and which was the gateway tabletop gaming item for me and which introduced me to the hobby. This box has a LOT of nostalgia for me. Upon hearing I was trying to locate one, he arranged to have his pristine 30-year old copy brought to Gen Con for me. I'm overwhelmed by his generosity. Thank you, Dave.



    Joseph Goodman very kindly gave me copies of Goodman Games' first two D&D 5E adventures. I will be reading them eagerly as soon as my baggage arrives home, along with the copy of ICONS Assembled Edition which Steve Kenson very generously handed me. It was a pleasure to catch up with both of them!




    Hal Greenberg kindly gave me a copy of The Awakened, an anthology of short stories by various game authors and fiction writers. You can see it at the top of the pile below!




    Another mention to WotC's Rodney Thompson for my shiny copy of the D&D 5E Monster Manual, which I posted about yesterday. And, most of all, thank you to all of the ENnies volunteers and judges who helped make this year the best ENnies yet. It's a wonderful show which keeps getting better, and Gabriel Whitehead's first year was a resounding success. Thanks Gabe, Cindy, Tony, Luke, Hans, Eric, and everybody else who helped or attended, and thank you to Jen Page and The Dungeon Bastard for hosting such a wonderful night.




    Thank you to all the folks who agreed to be interviewed by me - a long list which includes a 90-minute autograph interview with Ryan Dancey, a similarly long chat with the DungeonScape (formerly Project: Morningstar) folks, and others including Kevin Kulp, Tracey Hurley, Ryan Nock, Thursty Hillman, and more. And, of course, thank you to all the friends both old and new who made Gen Con such a wonderful, fun experience. Until next year!

    Tuesday, 19th August, 2014
    On Flumphs, Devils, and Wil Wheaton! 
    [61950/11006 views | Tweet This Article! | Share on Facebook]


    Over the Gen Con period, a couple of other D&D 5E Monster Manual previews found their way into the wild. Check them out below! The Monster Manual was floating aorund at Gen Con (along with the PHB and Hoard of the Dragon Queen). I'm sure more than one gamer considered a smash and grab...



    First we have the Bone Devil! [72 comments]



    And earlier in the week, the Flumph was posted on Twitter by Derek Myers. This one was just a photo of a page from the book. WotC have Monster Manuals to those who bought All Access passes at Gen Con, although they have been asking folks not to post photos of the interior. [30 comments]

    Wil Wheaton of Star Trek and Tabletop fame stopped by the WotC area at Gen Con. Tabletop, mainly a boardgames show, will be launching a new (Kickstarted) RPG show next year, although I don't know the details. WotC gifted him with a Player's Handbook, Monster Manual, and Hoard of the Dragon Queen.




    And here's a clearer look at that Table of Contents I shared last week.




    Looking for more Monster Manual spolierage? I've also previously shown the Tarrasque, the Sphinx, and the Red Dragon!

    WotC's Rodney Thompson was also kind enough to give me a copy of the Monster Manual. We took this somewhat intoxicated selfie. I'm not touching it because my fingers were covered in BBQ sauce from my chicken wings, so Rodney handled the general touching. That sounded wrong.


    Monday, 18th August, 2014
    It's time for a RED DRAGON! 
    [82039/21141 views | Tweet This Article! | Share on Facebook]


    I'm on my way home from Gen Con with - amongst many other things - a 5E Monster manual stowed away in my suitcase. WotC has also previewed the red dragon from the book, which you can see below!


    One of the most enjoyable parts of the ENnies was helping facilitate editor John Adamus' proposal to Erica Skerpan live on-stage to a standing ovation. Congratulations to them both from the ENnies!


    Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
  • A look at the Tyranny of Dragons DM Screen from...

    Here's a look at the Tyranny of Dragons DM's Screen, coming in September from official D&D licensee Gale Force 9. It's my understanding that a "Deluxe" screen follows in January 2015. For more D&D 5E scheduling info, click here.

    Read More

    5E Token Set Available from Gale Force 9 This...

    These are the D&D 5E tokens which should be available from Gale Force 9 later this month (August). For more D&D 5E scheduling info, click here!

    Read More

    FULL D&D 5TH EDITION RELEASE SCHEDULE &...

    Details of official D&D 5th Edition products coming in 2014 - rulebooks, boxed sets, adventures, miniatures, digital tools, PDFs, and more!

    Read More

    Updated 5E Schedules including 2015; MONSTER...

    Dungeons & Dragons News I have a new D&D 5E release schedule page. Simpler and easier to use than the old one. It covers stuff up until Spring 2015. Sasquatch Game Studios will be producing...

    Read More

    Resources for your 5th Edition Games!

    There are many resources springing up around the web - here at EN World, on blogs, in social media, and more. The community has been busy! I felt it might be helpful to list a few of them. This list can't hope to be complete, but I'll include the items I know. If you know of any that you feel deserve inclusion, feel free to drop me an email at...

    Read More

    What is OCCULT ADVENTURES?

    At Gen Con, Paizo announced Occult Adventures, a Gen Con 2015 release sourcebook for the Pathfinder RPG. There's a video at that link. So what do we know about it? xIt's another departure from the norm; Paizo...

    Read More