Casting Begins Soon For D&D Movie?
  • Casting Begins Soon For D&D Movie?

According to Screenrant, Paramount's (Summer 2021) Dungeons & Dragons movie is about to begin casting.

There's a few tidbits to be gleaned from the article:
    • Paramount is looking at A-listers for the male lead
    • The new draft of the script is by Michael Gillio
    • The director is no longer involved, and the studio is looking for a new one

There has been plenty of news, speculation, rumour, and more about this movie over the last few years; in fact, I've been covering the various rumours for at least 5 years!
    Comments 172 Comments
      Dioltach -
      Summer 2012? Sounds like it might be a Dragonlance timetravelling movie!
      theworstdm -
      I don't feel like a movie is the right format to fully capture the essence of D&D. What I fear we'll get is the 140 minute long Dungeons & Dragons Presents Generic Fantasy Movie #827. A limited series would give the creators more room to develop characters, do some world building and do some long format storytelling, all things that you get in D&D.
      theworstdm -
      I'd watch that!
      Ralif Redhammer -
      I could be reading too much into semantics here, but the reference to a singular “male lead” might indicate that this is not a Dragonlance movie. Or at least, not a War of the Lance adaptation.

Don't know anything much about Michael Gillio, but his imdb credentials as a writer don't exactly inspire confidence here. Still, it's only one cook out of multiple mixing up the soup at this point.

Quote Originally Posted by Morrus View Post
      Paramount is looking at A-listers for the male lead
      Mistwell -