View Profile: MaximusArael020 - Morrus' Unofficial Tabletop RPG News
No Recent Activity
About MaximusArael020

Basic Information

About MaximusArael020
Introduction:
New to D&D, and a new DM. Trying my best.
Location:
South Dakota
Disable sharing sidebar?:
No
Sex:
Male
Age Group:
25-30
My Game Details

Details of games currently playing and games being sought.

State:
South Dakota
Country:
USA
Game Details:
I DM a group of 4, including myself. I'm a halfling rogue. We also have a high elf wizard, a wood elf cleric, and a dwarf fighter. Pretty standard, but I'm new to DMing and have limited experience in D&D. We are currently running Lost Mines of Phandelver, and I'm looking to do my own campaign. My campaign will use the same characters and setting, hopefully.

Statistics


Total Posts
Total Posts
51
Posts Per Day
0.09
Last Post
Want to shake things up: Doorways, Scouting, Caution Monday, 6th May, 2019 10:43 PM

Currency

Gold Pieces
3
General Information
Last Activity
Yesterday 07:31 PM
Join Date
Tuesday, 5th December, 2017
Product Reviews & Ratings
Reviews Written
0
My Game Details
State:
South Dakota
Country:
USA
Game Details:
I DM a group of 4, including myself. I'm a halfling rogue. We also have a high elf wizard, a wood elf cleric, and a dwarf fighter. Pretty standard, but I'm new to DMing and have limited experience in D&D. We are currently running Lost Mines of Phandelver, and I'm looking to do my own campaign. My campaign will use the same characters and setting, hopefully.

Friday, 24th May, 2019


Wednesday, 6th March, 2019

  • 02:25 AM - CleverNickName mentioned MaximusArael020 in post Critical Role Kickstarter Predition Game: Guess the Funding Outcome (GTFO)
    ...eath: Monster 1.5) $12,393,139-------- Radaceus: $12,345,678.91 FarBeyondC: $12,345,678.90 Morrus: $12,000,000 Mistwell: $11,800,000 Mort: $11,620,000 Zardnaar: $11,354,883 <--- The Winner! Sadras: $11,120,000 SkidAce: $11,000,000 Tazawa: $10,700,000 togashi_joe: $10,250,000 DM Dave1: $10,101,010 MichaelSomething: $10,000,000 Lazybones: $9,750,000 PabloM: $9,500,000 akr71: $9,250,000 rczarnec: $9,250,000 Azzy: $9,000,000 Henry: $8,900,000 mortwatcher: $8,666,000 Lidgar: $8,423,976.73 vincegetorix: $8,360,000 SmokeyCriminal: $8,008,135 AriochQ: $7,777,777 robus: $7,750,000 MarkB: $7,500,000 phantomK9: $6,969,696 TarionzCousin: $6,160,000 ClaytonCross: $6,000,000 ---------Highest-Funded Film Project on Kickstarter (MST3K Kickstarter) $5,764,229----------- MaximusArael020: $5,685,000 Prakriti: $1

Saturday, 23rd February, 2019

  • 10:13 AM - Harzel mentioned MaximusArael020 in post Anyone want Brownies?
    My first thought was the same as @MaximusArael020. :food:;) But back on subject, it looks pretty good. There's only one thing in the 1e description that I can see that you haven't directly accounted for, which is "Special Defenses: Save as 9th level cleric". Clerics had pretty good saves, especially vs. Paralyzation/Poison/Death Magic, and 9th level is quite a bump for a 1/2 HD creature. Not sure there's a really good way to emulate that in 5e, but maybe at least bump their CON save, and perhaps CHA as well since those stats are just average. Of course, their STR is very low, but a high STR save just doesn't seem like the right flavor. Suggestion: Saving Throws CON +6, CHA +4

No results to display...

Wednesday, 27th February, 2019

  • 01:35 AM - iserith quoted MaximusArael020 in post Polymorph is a bad de-buff spell
    Is this still about "can a character 'kill' their polymorphed self to return to their natural form?" I'd say yes for characters that know about the spell polymorph, it's fine. For characters that it's less likely they know, say a level 2 fighter, have them roll an Arcana check. If they pass they can have heard about it from a story or whatever, if not then they wouldn't know. Can a toad die without knowledge of how polymorph spells work? If so, then we don't need to establish what the character knows about this spell.

Friday, 18th January, 2019

  • 10:22 PM - Dausuul quoted MaximusArael020 in post Out Of Combat Action Surge Uses
    Well, your table, your rules! At my table it would make sense if a Fighter could "push yourself beyond your normal limits for a moment" to get a second grab at a ledge, etc. It's only once per day (until level 17). But if you don't think that makes sense, then don't use it! :) It's once per short rest, not once per day. In any case, I generally prefer to play the rules as written, unless I have a specific reason to alter them. I've had too many cases of ill-considered house rules coming back to bite me or leading to balance problems; and it's a pain in the neck to keep track of them. Action Surge is powerful enough as is, it doesn't need to also be convertible to extra uses of Indomitable.
  • 04:54 PM - Dausuul quoted MaximusArael020 in post Out Of Combat Action Surge Uses
    One example I was thinking of is if a Fighter failed a Dex save while climbing or crossing a dangerous rock-bridge, etc, and started falling. They could use their Action Surge to try to grab onto the ledge again (basically re-roll the Save). Er... what? I wouldn't allow that in combat; I see no reason why I would allow that out of combat, either. Action Surge lets you take a second action, it doesn't let you re-roll a saving throw. I do typically give a reaction Dex save to save yourself if you're about to fall, but everybody gets that, and Action Surge doesn't let you do it twice.

Friday, 4th January, 2019

  • 11:50 PM - TaranTheWanderer quoted MaximusArael020 in post Is it just me or is the spell Rope Trick kind of absurd?
    I agree with your post and enjoy your thinking, except for the part where you say "8 year old can climb it easy, so adventurers should be able to, as well.". (At least that's what it seems like you are saying) As if kids aren't ALREADY was better at climbing than your average adult. Well, not all kids and adults are built alike. The chubby kids with no muscle couldn’t climb it. It’s about strength to weight. The large football players had the most muscle mass struggled because they also had lots of extra weight. But they still succeeded on the first try. It took them about 10- 15 seconds when we raced. So at 1/4 movement that’s 2 rounds for 15-20 feet. In retrospect, I probably had a climb speed by that point because I could do it much faster. Or just high athletics...idk. My point is this: in my experience, (10s of thousands of people per year) an average adult can climb a knotted rope with some to little difficulty. The average human is strength 9. Unless you have a (trait) flaw...
  • 03:49 AM - Maxperson quoted MaximusArael020 in post Does Rope Trick Heal?
    You are ignoring the "up to" as well, though. "Up to" includes 60 feet. According to the PHB, while climbing (or swimming) each foot traveled costs two feet of movement. That means that, within the spells description, if the rope is 60 ft long, which it can be, then it would take a creature with 30 ft of movement two rounds to scale the rope, even without a skill check (15 ft movement, 15 ft dash action). So that is at least 12 seconds of time off of the specific length of the spell of 1 hour. That means that they would get to the safe space with 59 minutes and 48 seconds to rest. Again, according to the PHB, a short rest is at least 1 hour. 59 minutes and 48 seconds is not equal to 1 hour, so according to the rules as written, it would not be useable for a short rest unless the character could become immediately inside the safe space. I have no problem ruling that the space inside of rope trick spell can be used as a short rest. Maybe that extra dimension has slightly different rules for t...
  • 01:26 AM - iserith quoted MaximusArael020 in post Is it just me or is the spell Rope Trick kind of absurd?
    The big question is... Can you rope trick underwater: does the extra-dimensional space fill with water or is it kept dry? It depends. What's the DC for water to climb a rope in D&D 3e?

Thursday, 3rd January, 2019

  • 08:06 PM - iserith quoted MaximusArael020 in post Does Rope Trick Heal?
    The requirements as written for a short rest cannot be met inside of the extra-dimensional space of the rope trick spell. ^ That's a better statement. You can't get a full hour out of a rope trick spell if you parse getting into and out of the thing in seconds. But in actual play, such a ruling may result in players rolling their eyes so hard that one or more of them might have an aneurysm.
  • 07:50 PM - iserith quoted MaximusArael020 in post Does Rope Trick Heal?
    I mean... what? You're arguing that the spell is designed for a Short Rest. I'm saying that by the very nature of its design it denies a short rest if you are reading the rules as written. You can houserule whatever you want, but since it takes some amount of time to get into the space, anything less than 1 hour (which is must be due to how time works) does not grant the as written requirement for a short rest. So houserule away, that perfectly fine. It does not "deny" a short rest.
  • 07:43 PM - FrogReaver quoted MaximusArael020 in post Does Rope Trick Heal?
    Oh, I'm not sure of the intent. I would certainly House-rule that the extra-dimensional space created by the spell allows for 1 short rest due to time dilation or something similar. The timing is close enough that it would appear the intent was there, and I don't think it would ever be game-breaking. I'm just saying that as written the spell absolutely does not allow for a short rest as it takes a non-zero amount of time to enter the space and if the timing in the PHB is to be taken exactly then a short rest inside the space is impossible. Yep, that’s definetely fascinating to me.
  • 07:41 PM - iserith quoted MaximusArael020 in post Does Rope Trick Heal?
    Oh, I'm not sure of the intent. I would certainly House-rule that the extra-dimensional space created by the spell allows for 1 short rest due to time dilation or something similar. The timing is close enough that it would appear the intent was there, and I don't think it would ever be game-breaking. I'm just saying that as written the spell absolutely does not allow for a short rest as it takes a non-zero amount of time to enter the space and if the timing in the PHB is to be taken exactly then a short rest inside the space is impossible. Or you could say that the spell takes no position on a short rest at all and that some portion of the short rest will be outside of the safe space. No big deal as it will probably never matter.
  • 07:39 PM - Yunru quoted MaximusArael020 in post Does Rope Trick Heal?
    You are ignoring the "up to" as well, though. "Up to" includes 60 feet. According to the PHB, while climbing (or swimming) each foot traveled costs two feet of movement. That means that, within the spells description, if the rope is 60 ft long, which it can be, then it would take a creature with 30 ft of movement two rounds to scale the rope, even without a skill check (15 ft movement, 15 ft dash action). So that is at least 12 seconds of time off of the specific length of the spell of 1 hour. That means that they would get to the safe space with 59 minutes and 48 seconds to rest. Again, according to the PHB, a short rest is at least 1 hour. 59 minutes and 48 seconds is not equal to 1 hour, so according to the rules as written, it would not be useable for a short rest unless the character could become immediately inside the safe space. I have no problem ruling that the space inside of rope trick spell can be used as a short rest. Maybe that extra dimension has slightly different rules for tim...
  • 03:04 PM - Yunru quoted MaximusArael020 in post Does Rope Trick Heal?
    I'm a little torn on the "Short Rest" part of the argument. To answer the OP specifically, no Rope Trick does not heal. Healing can take place (potentially) after using Rope Trick, but the spell does not in and of itself heal, so...I guess that answers that. As for the Rules as Written, I would say that if a Short Rest is at least 1 hour long, and Rope Trick lasts one hour, but takes some non-zero amount of time to enter the space, then by default a Short Rest cannot take place inside of the Rope Trick pocket. By the rules it would be technically impossible to gain a Short Rest by using Rope Trick unless it instantaneously teleports you inside of the extradimensional space. As for the "You can use a 3' rope instead of 60' so you don't have to climb," I agree 100%. However if this is done in a combat situation, it is very likely enemies would notice people disappearing into nothingness while crouching then jumping in a certain spot, and depending on what the enemy is they would probably be ...

Friday, 20th July, 2018

  • 09:47 PM - Mort quoted MaximusArael020 in post Critical Role Episode #26 - spoilers!
    Well, even if it was a "deadly" encounter, even significantly, that wouldn't mean that Matt did anything wrong. In CR Season 1, when the Chroma Conclave attacked all at once, that was an impossible battle. But it was meant to be. That doesn't make it wrong. Having a heavily one-sided encounter isn't a failing of the DM. There were multiple ways that the M9 could have pursued their quarry. Spying on them, sneaking into the camp at night to free the slaves, setting up a distraction, getting more people invested in taking out the slavers, etc. There are more ways to succeed than head-on battle-royale.Absolutely. Heck, I started a campaign a years back (1st level characters) with a demigod waking up and rampaging through the city. The group had 0% of a head on confrontation. But they recognized that quickly and focused on mitigating the damage (putting out fires etc) , helping herd people out of the way, that sort of thing. Worked great as a bonding exercise and to immediately show that direct co...

Saturday, 21st April, 2018


Tuesday, 27th February, 2018

  • 05:39 PM - Cap'n Kobold quoted MaximusArael020 in post Two-Weapon Fighting - Is this possible?
    Well, Darth Maul's lightsaber comes to mind. It's real to me! :P Maybe a bat'leth? Though that might not be considered light... Neither of those are real world examples. :p They're both two-handed weapons and (assuming you converted the lightsaber into a staff or double-ended sword) not light weapons. I don't see how these would allow combining multiple weapon styles other than the usually-allowed ones.

Friday, 9th February, 2018

  • 12:10 AM - pukunui quoted MaximusArael020 in post Old Spice D&D Class: Thoughts?
    My apologies. I'm not very familiar with Pathfinder, and I guess I just assumed it to be 5e, as that's what I have the most experience with. What gives it away as Pathfinder?No worries. I think Old Spice were just as confused, what with the reference to "the world's greatest roleplaying game", which is 5e's tagline, not Pathfinder's.

Sunday, 21st January, 2018

  • 12:27 AM - Eltab quoted MaximusArael020 in post Wave Echo Cave Shenanigans
    I've added a few things to the adventure just to engage the players more, like a Bag of Holding. Upon reaching the cave entrance, our Dwarf Fighter put the bags of flour, casks of meat, and other provisions into the bag. The first cave area was full of Stirges. Our Wood Elf Cleric stealthed into the cave and Perceived of the Stirges without alerting them. She came back to relay that information to the party, who decided that since the ceiling looked about 30 feet tall, and our High Elf Wizard's flaming hand range was 15 feet, that the best way to deal with the issue would be to raise her arms straight up while being carried by the 5ft tall Dwarf and then scorching the group of Stirges. After a series of Strength, Acrobatics, and Stealth rolls (with disadvantage), the two went undetected into the cave and the wizard managed to take out most of the stirges in one spell! It was pretty great, although I'm sure I did something wrong. You accidentally 'lost' 5 feet of range between the Wizard and t...

MaximusArael020's Downloads

  Filename Total Downloads Rating Files Uploaded Last Updated

Most Recent Favorite Generators/Tables

View All Favorites