Cookie Cutter Melee "Beat Stick" Builds

Venator

First Post
Im looking to get a collection of some "standard" melee fighter-type builds that have their focus around dealing lots of damage. The more vanilla the better.

Specifically, I'd like to focus on characters that wield two-handed weapons and do not make massive use of Prestige Classes. I would also like to keep it limited to 3.5 WotC material that is not world specific, and i would love it if we could just forget about the Frenzied Berserker and trip oriented builds. :)

I have zero experience building a melee fighter type, but here is the way i think i would start...

Human Barbarian 1 / Fighter 4

(1st) Human - Dodge
(1st) Barb 1 - Extra Rage
(2nd) Fighter 1 - Power Attack
(3rd) Fighter 2 - Combat Expertise, Karmic Strike
(4th) Fighter 3
(5th) Fighter 4 - Cleave

From this point I would look into Combat Reflexes, and feats that build of that Karmic Strike combo (fresh my memory on this one).

Im not sure what PrC id look into, if any. From this point i might just continue taking levels in Fighter due to all the great feats. Maybe pick up a few more levels in Barbarian?

Anyways, cookie cutter builds, what are they? :)

Shazman

Banned
Banned
Basically, a barbarian with 4 levels of fighter work well. A half-orc for the str bonus works well for this.

Barbarian 1 Power Attack
Fighter 1 Cleave
Fighter 2 Weapon Focus (Two-handed melee weapon), Iron Will
Fighter 3
Fighter 4 Weapon Specialization
Barbarian 2 Dodge
Fighter 5
Fighter 6 Melee Weapon Mastery(slashing) from PHB II
Barbarian 3 Improved Critical

From here take barbarian all the way and go for feats such as improved toughness, close quarters combat, extra rage, quick draw, and improved initiative.

Zaruthustran

The tingling means it’s working!
Venator said:
Im looking to get a collection of some "standard" melee fighter-type builds that have their focus around dealing lots of damage. The more vanilla the better.