Forked Thread: Blade Cascade official errata: It's now reasonable

wujenta

First Post
Forked from: Blade Cascade official errata: It's now reasonable

Celtavian said:
Blade Cascade [Revision]
Player’s Handbook, page 109
On the Attack line, replace the second sentence with “Alternate main and offhand
weapon attacks until you miss or until you make five attacks.”

http://www.wizards.com/dnd/files/UpdatePH.pdf

No more arguing with your players over Blade Cascade. Wizards moved quickly on this ability. Makes me even more happy with 4th edition that they aren't going to let broken abilities stand for very long.

As I thought, Blade Cascade was going to be one of the first powers to be nerfed soon as was too good to live, but now I find it good, but not a Cascade of blows anymore...

Im not good at crunching numbers, but I think they could have made something like this to let the player think they could do a lot of attacks, and limiting it too so Orcus can now sleep without fearing the ranger...

Blade Cascade (Houserule) : Alternate main and offhand weapon attacks with a -1 penalty (cumulatively) to each attack until you miss (STR vs AC first attack, STR - 1 vs AC second, STR - 2 vs ac third and so on)

This way you continue attacking until you miss, but each attack is more dificult than the previous one... I have not done any numbers, but I think this will limit the number of attacks practically at 10 with some luck, pretty powerful but not game breaking...

What do you think ?

proto128

First Post
In fairness, Blade Cascade still has a "cascade of blows" feel. How many powers let you (potentially) make 5 attack rolls in a round?

eamon

Explorer
Blade Cascade (Houserule) : Alternate main and offhand weapon attacks with a -1 penalty (cumulatively) to each attack until you miss (STR vs AC first attack, STR - 1 vs AC second, STR - 2 vs ac third and so on)