Diagonal Movement - Better or Worse?

vhailor

First Post
I am new to D&D, but even I can see that the rules about diagonal movement are unacceptable.
We haven't started yet with my party, but the DM(old school) told us that we will use the old 1.5 distance diagonal rules.
Has anyone noticed any problems if we decide to go with the 1.5 distance rules?

Example: If a character has speed 6(=30 feet), and uses his movement to move diagonal, he can cover SQRT(30*30+30*30)=42.43 feet, when in straight line he could cover only 30. That's almost 13 feet more than normal (almost half his speed).

Nebulous

Legend
We use 1:1 per the rules and have no problem with it. It's all just a simulation anyway, so we don't really care about the minutiae like that. Players move that way and so do monsters.

Foxman

First Post
1) monsters have the same advantage as the players - so its a wash
2) the system is *designed* to use the 1:1 on the diag, you change that and there are numerous things that start to break down (lines don't go as far, blasts/bursts change shape, adventures designed with maps designed on the 1:1 ratio may be harder using the 1:1.5 ratio because movement is reduced, and MORE)
3) Using 1:1 *speeds up* play - it may be a simplification, but so are HP ;). Why? Easier to count distance for movement/spells/attacks, etc.
4) Mobility, the game is designed to include more mobility, moving around and getting to do cool stuff, that gets cut down.

When I heard they were going to 1:1 I was annoyed and didnt like the idea. After using it, I think it works. Not a huge fan, but it does *work*.

Its like the butterfly effect - change one small rule, and you have a mydrid of effects that change the whole game system that you need to adjust. If you adjust those, they have further effects. It just ripples out from there.

Mengu

First Post