Why do you have a colossal...

Dannyalcatraz

Schmoderator
Staff member
Supporter
...RPG collection?

Inspired by http://www.enworld.org/forum/general-rpg-discussion/297065-how-big-your-rpg-collection.html

I have mine for 3 reasons:

1. If I'm playing a game for any length of time, I like to have access to the books so I can explore mechanical and RP potential within the game at my leisure.
  2. I've been blesed to have a bit more disposable income than most of my gaming buddies, so I'll buy duplicates of books that I expect to see heavy use- PHBs for D&D; the HERO core rulebook, etc.- to make sure there are enough copies at the table.
  3. Some games are just worth buying, just in case...

What about you?

Last edited:

Mark Hope

Adventurer
Like the OP, it's a combination of things, but mainly it's because I've been playing for almost 30 years and I've never sold or thrown out any gaming stuff. It adds up :). My purchasing habits are pretty much nonexistent now, though. Doubt it will double in another 30 years, lol. God, I hope not!

Samurai

Adventurer
I have a Colossal collection because:

1. I love reading games, thinking about their settings and rules, creating adventures, characters, alternate rules, mining them for ideas in games I am playing, etc.

2. I've been collecting and playing RPGs for 31 years now and I can count on 1 hand the number of books I've ever sold or traded away... the collection just continues to grow and grow! It's hard for me to part with any of my books unless I'm absolutely positively 100% sure I will never want to look at it again. Which doesn't happen all that often.

Diamond Cross

Banned
Banned
I like reading the settings and comparing systems.

But, in my old age it's getting to the point where I don't want to learn any more new systems.

Gilladian

Adventurer
My husband and I met, 31 years ago, at a game shop. I had already been a gamer for 3 years at that point.

I'm a librarian, and he's a packrat.