New D&D 5e Core Class: The Priest (Bronze Age/Ancient World)

mockman1890

Explorer
Hi everyone,

Longtime ENworld reader, first-time poster! I'm a gamer and artist -- you may have seen my D&D Walkthrough Maps on the internet. I've been working for some time on a new D&D5e core class and I wanted to share it here:

http://mockman.com/2015/05/21/my-new-dungeons-dragons-class-the-priest/

The Priest (or Idolpriest, or Idolator) is a variant divine class inspired by historical priests of ancient religions -- in particular by Scott Bennie's 3rd edition supplement "Testament: Roleplaying in the Biblical Era." It's also inspired by the sword & sorcery archetype of the 'mysterious high priest," a type of character who's closer to a wizard than to the armored, mace-wielding, battlefield cleric of D&D.

The Priest:
* uses an Idol similar to the way a wizard uses their spellbook (or more like a familiar, since Idols become more powerful as the priest gains levels)
* has improved casting abilities, particularly enchantments & illusions, compared to clerics
* has less weapon & armor abilities than a cleric
* can gain Divine Boons by pleasing their Idol through prayer, ritual, offerings of jewels & treasure, self-flagellation and above all BLOOD SACRIFICE! ;)

There's several builds and some illustrations in the PDF. I'm using the Priest now in my current 5e campaign, which is a reskinned version of "Hoard of the Dragon Queen" set in a fantasy D&D version of Ancient Babylon. But although it's inspired by ancient, Bronze Age mythology, it could just as easily work in a more traditional D&D campaign... as long as you're into the idolatry!

Please check it out and let me know what you think!

Many thanks,

Jason

Ezel

First Post