New short-run adventure, need help

Soultpp

Explorer
So I am planning to venture into DMing a little. The adventure is mostly just a dungeon run through undead filled catacombs, nothing fancy or original and nothing long term.

I am thinking to start my group way at level 1 but I'm not experienced enough to figure out how many skeletons and zombies to put in their path. Likely I expect them to get to 3rd, maybe 4th level by the end as I do want the place packed.

Now the first problem here is my own inexperience, the next is my group. They're not nearly as familiar with any system as I am and they seem a tad apathetic toward even learning beyond the basics they already know.

So there is that and why I am here. I need a little help in the planning, if only a general suggestion on numbers/frequency. They are not going to get much chance to restock though they may have chances to rest if they are clever.

If anyone had some catacomb maps that they could share, that would be awesome as well, but not strictly necessary I can probably find a decent enough generator somewhere for this.

Just for clarity, most undead will be absolutely base type, few with weapons even. There will be one or two 2hd varieties with better gear, just to act as milestone points.

Hmm, I may through in one or two other undead too, like a ghoul or ghast, if I feel they need it. Which they might.

I don't know what everyone will make as characters yet as I have only just started planning, and only told one person of the group thus far, so that is another uncertainty.

Thoughts?

Gilladian

Adventurer