Lex Arcana Blew Past Its Kickstarter Goal: Here's Why

In our continuing coverage of the Second Edition of Lex Arcana that is currently on Kickstarter, I spoke with Andrea Angiolino, the Creative Director at Quality Games. Andrea was gracious enough to answer a few questions for us at EN World!

In our continuing coverage of the Second Edition of Lex Arcana that is currently on Kickstarter, I spoke with Andrea Angiolino, the Creative Director at Quality Games. Andrea was gracious enough to answer a few questions for us at EN World!
Sean Hillman (SH): Andrea, could you tell folks a little bit about yourself and your position at Quality Games?

Andrea Angiolino (AA): I am an Italian game designer and game journalist. I started in the '80s: in 1982 I had the first RPG magazine column in Italy, in 1987 I wrote the first Italian choose-your-own-adventure gamebook. I also designed quite many games - the most famed abroad being Wings of War, now Wings of Glory, and Sails of Glory. My Battlestar Galactica - Starship Battles miniature game is being launched in these weeks. I also design games for TV and newspapers, write books about them, tell the story of games and toys at the national radio, teach in courses about game design and gamebook writing. Back in the '90s my friend Giovanni Caron involved me in the founding of Qualitygame, a game publisher that aimed to release high quality board games. We had great attention to games coming from contests for unpublished authors. I also edited a collection of small size booklets with role-playing games, game books and wargames that was initially launched as a promotional item and became a very successful range. Giovanni went back to me with the idea of founding a new company called Quality Games and with its roots in our past activity, and I accepted. I am the Creative Director.

SH: How did Quality Games become involved with Lex Arcana and the design team?