Critical Role Could Critical Role launch their own RPG?

Morrus

Well, that was fun
Staff member
So, given two facts:

1) WotC indicated last year that streaming shows like Critical Role are responsible for over 50% of new player acquisitions;
http://www.enworld.org/forum/conten...Into-Game-From-Watching-Online-Play&p=7280374

2) Critical Role is currently demonstrating an ability to run a multi-million dollar Kickstarter in a small RPG industry which is only $55M in size according to ICv2.
http://www.enworld.org/forum/content.php?1984-Top-5-RPGs-Compiled-Charts-2008-Present

So Critical Role is a sizeable percentage of the RPG industry. If they launched their own RPG, it might not rival D&D, but it would certainly be a significant player.

Or not. I’m no expert. Do those 50%+ people who entered the hobby via streaming shows watch CR *because* it’s D&D? Or do they like D&D because CR plays it?

I feel like I would buy the Critical Role RPG.

Last edited:

Lazybones

Adventurer
Well, they have their own campaign setting that was published by Green Ronin.

I suppose the biggest challenge would be swapping over their streamed game to a new ruleset. They've done it before (the pre-stream game was originally Pathfinder). But it would be pretty hard to do in the middle of a campaign, so it would likely happen during a switch over to Campaign 3. Even then there would be some challenges since I'm sure Matt would want to keep exploring his world (given the time he's put into it).

billd91

Not your screen monkey (he/him)
Maybe? But why would they? They may be helping to drive the D&D wave, but they're also riding it. Publishing their own RPG strikes me as a risk of the golden-goose-killing potential if it were successful enough to undermine that wave.

Note, of course, that wouldn't apply to them making D&D supplements, which strikes me as a better way to maximize the factors driving their success and the success of D&D.

Morrus

Well, that was fun
Staff member