Can Sharpshooter be used with a Net? - Page 3
Page 3 of 23 FirstFirst 12345678910111213 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 229
  1. #21
    Member
    Time Agent (Lvl 24)



    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    8,631
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Farquhar View Post
    0+10 = 10, not 0.
    And if a net's damage were "0 [damage type]", this would apply.

    But it isn't. The net's damage entry is "--"; it does not deal damage at all. There is no "deal damage" step when you attack with a net. So there's nothing to add 10 to.

  2. #22
    Member
    Enchanter (Lvl 12)



    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,453
    Quote Originally Posted by Dausuul View Post
    And if a net's damage were "0 [damage type]", this would apply.

    But it isn't. The net's damage entry is "--"; it does not deal damage at all. There is no "deal damage" step when you attack with a net. So there's nothing to add 10 to.
    That's basically how Crawford explains it.

    https://www.sageadvice.eu/2015/04/15/net-attack/

  3. #23
    Member
    Enchanter (Lvl 12)



    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Amherst, Nova Scotia
    Posts
    1,420
    Quote Originally Posted by FrogReaver View Post
    RAW maybe. RAI definitely no. Go with RAI on this one.
    ^ I agree with this.

    I would say, if you really wanted a net that did damage, modify one with barbed hooks. Maybe 1 point of piercing damage per hook that catches the target? This would also mean you don't have to take the -5 on your to hit roll. Now the question is how many hooks catch into the target.

    Though this entire thought experiment brings me to conclude that the net shouldn't have a normal attack roll at all, but should be a Dex Save on the target. I have a hard time believing that a person with low Dex in plate armor is harder to catch than a moderately dexterous opponent in light armor. Perhaps the wielder should make a Dex based attack roll and the target uses that as the DC for their Dex Save.

  4. #24
    Member
    Minor Trickster (Lvl 4)



    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    178
    I would agree in that the net can be thrown and doesn't impose disadvantage...and you could ignore cover...

  5. #25
    Member
    Enchanter (Lvl 12)



    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    747
    Quote Originally Posted by akr71 View Post
    I would say, if you really wanted a net that did damage, modify one with barbed hooks. Maybe 1 point of piercing damage per hook that catches the target? This would also mean you don't have to take the -5 on your to hit roll. Now the question is how many hooks catch into the target.
    The issue with that is now since this modified net does 1 piercing, you could add +10 from SS and up to 10d6 from Sneak Attack. It is basically a work-around, and if that is what is needed you might as well just leave the net at 0 damage and allow features to add the damage anyway. There is the issue with the damage type, but I would probably rule it as bludgeoning if I had to.

    Quote Originally Posted by akr71 View Post
    Though this entire thought experiment brings me to conclude that the net shouldn't have a normal attack roll at all, but should be a Dex Save on the target. I have a hard time believing that a person with low Dex in plate armor is harder to catch than a moderately dexterous opponent in light armor. Perhaps the wielder should make a Dex based attack roll and the target uses that as the DC for their Dex Save.
    Great point! I would think avoiding a Net would require a Dex save with DC 8 + proficiency bonus + Dex Mod., adding disadvantage for armors which suffer penalty to Stealth.

  6. #26
    Member
    Grandmaster of Flowers (Lvl 18)



    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    2,083
    Quote Originally Posted by Dausuul View Post
    And if a net's damage were "0 [damage type]", this would apply.

    But it isn't. The net's damage entry is "--"; it does not deal damage at all. There is no "deal damage" step when you attack with a net. So there's nothing to add 10 to.
    There is no mention of skipping any steps in the PHB, and If you add 10 to "nothing" the answer is 10.

  7. #27
    Member
    Waghalter (Lvl 7)



    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    540
    Look, you might be adding 10 to the weapon's damage, but the weapon doesn't deal damage. So you're adding 10 to the damage which the weapon then proceeds to not deal. So best case scenario you went from not dealing "--" damage to not dealing 10 damage. A moral victory perhaps, but not a mechanical one.

  8. #28
    Member
    Grandfather of Assassins (Lvl 19)



    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    5,152
    I find it silly how everyone is trying to interpret the rules around this to mean what they believe it should mean.

    By RAW it obviously works. Net does 0 damage. 0+10 is 10. Obviously by RAW it works. There is no fancy rules lawyering that are going to get around this. The rules arent infallible. There are plenty of edge cases where they come up short.

    That said RAI is clear. Its also clearly better in this instance. So why care about RAW on this one?

  9. #29
    Member
    Grandmaster of Flowers (Lvl 18)



    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    2,083
    Quote Originally Posted by FrogReaver View Post
    That said RAI is clear. Its also clearly better in this instance. So why care about RAW on this one?
    I like that it annoys people who favour a literal interpretation of the rules.

    I prefer to take it on a case by case basis.

    Sharpshooter player: "I'm going to use my special ability to try and damage a target with this net I found."
    DM (me): "how will you damage the target?"
    Player: "I'm going to try and throttle them with it."
    DM: "Okay, on a hit you will do 10 points of damage."

  10. #30
    Member
    Grandfather of Assassins (Lvl 19)



    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    5,152
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Farquhar View Post
    I like that it annoys people who favour a literal interpretation of the rules.

    I prefer to take it on a case by case basis.

    Sharpshooter player: "I'm going to use my special ability to try and damage a target with this net I found."
    DM (me): "how will you damage the target?"
    Player: "I'm going to try and throttle them with it."
    DM: "Okay, on a hit you will do 10 points of damage."
    Doesnt make sense to me

Similar Threads

  1. Net and Sharpshooter feat
    By Undrhil in forum *Dungeons & Dragons
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: Tuesday, 8th August, 2017, 05:20 AM
  2. Sharpshooter
    By VinAlanson in forum *Dungeons & Dragons
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: Tuesday, 17th January, 2017, 02:06 PM
  3. Proposed tweak to Sharpshooter and GWM
    By Eejit in forum *Dungeons & Dragons
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Monday, 8th December, 2014, 03:24 PM
  4. Critique new feat: Sharpshooter
    By Lizard Lips in forum *Pathfinder & Starfinder
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: Tuesday, 26th February, 2002, 10:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •