5E Can you cast simulacrum on a creature under imprisonment?
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Grandmaster of Flowers (Lvl 18)



    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    8,946

    Can you cast simulacrum on a creature under imprisonment?

    If a wizard found an imprisoned creature (aka the spell). Could they use that creature as the target for simulacrum?

    How about if they were under sequester?

  2. #2
    Member
    The Grand Druid (Lvl 20)



    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    C'ville
    Posts
    2,553
    Quote Originally Posted by Stalker0 View Post
    If a wizard found an imprisoned creature (aka the spell). Could they use that creature as the target for simulacrum?

    How about if they were under sequester?
    It surely depends on the type of imprisonment. Hard to see why it wouldn't work with chains, hard to see how it would work with hedge prison or burial. I'd rule based on whether you can be in range of the target, and whether you can get the fingernail clippings etc. One edge case would be the gem prison, if you already had the clippings and were possessed of the gem. Does the imprisoned figure count as being in range? I'd say no, touching the gem doesn't count as touching the target.

    For sequester it seems fine, assuming you can locate the target and get to it.
    XP Harzel gave XP for this post

  3. #3
    Member
    The Grand Druid (Lvl 20)



    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    5,148
    If you cast Simulcrum via wish it will work with any version of Imprisonment.

  4. #4
    Member
    The Grand Druid (Lvl 20)



    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    C'ville
    Posts
    2,553
    Quote Originally Posted by gyor View Post
    If you cast Simulcrum via wish it will work with any version of Imprisonment.
    How do you figure? Still have to touch the target, right?

    Oh, I must have looked it up on an off-brand site. Range is 30 ft. Still tougher for burial and hedged prison though...
    Last edited by jaelis; Monday, 27th May, 2019 at 03:42 PM.

  5. #5
    Member
    A 1e title so awesome it's not in the book (Lvl 21)



    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    NE Ohio, USA
    Posts
    2,939
    Quote Originally Posted by jaelis View Post
    How do you figure?
    I think it starts with saying "I Wish...."
    XP Iry gave XP for this post

  6. #6
    Member
    Hydra (Lvl 25)

    Mistwell's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Van Nuys, CA
    Posts
    14,435
    Yes, it should work on an imprisoned creature. In fact this is one primary use mentioned in Treantmonk's guide to high level wizard tactics.

Similar Threads

  1. Can a Simulacrum cast spells?
    By Dwarmaj in forum *Pathfinder & Starfinder
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: Monday, 14th May, 2018, 04:29 AM
  2. Cast a Personal Spell on another Creature?
    By Slaved in forum *Pathfinder & Starfinder
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: Tuesday, 29th April, 2008, 06:05 AM
  3. Replies: 11
    Last Post: Thursday, 12th December, 2002, 05:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •