5E Flurry of Blows
Notice: This is a Wiki Thread. You are allowed to edit it. (?)
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Flurry of Blows

  1. #1
    Member
    Novice (Lvl 1)



    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Location
    Whangaparaoa
    Posts
    1

    Flurry of Blows

    2 Questions.

    Given that the rules say that the Flurry of Blows happens Immediately after the Attack Action.

    1) Can the monk move between the Attack Action and the Bonus Action if you use Flurry of Blows?
    2) Can the monk move between the unarmed strikes of the Flurry of Blows?

  2. #2
    Member
    Cutpurse (Lvl 5)



    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    65
    Yes and yes. Movement happens during an action.
    XP Dausuul, Shiroiken gave XP for this post

  3. #3
    Member
    Enchanter (Lvl 12)



    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Amherst, Nova Scotia
    Posts
    1,412
    Yes, movement can be split up during your turn, however you like.

    Pg 78. PHB

    Flurry of Blows
    Immediately after you take the Attack Action on your turn, you can spend 1 ki point to make two unarmed strikes as a bonus action.
    The monk's Martial Arts already allows an unarmed strike as a bonus action.

    So immediately after the monk Attacks, spend 1 ki point to use your bonus action to make 2 unarmed strikes, rather than the usual 1 unarmed strike as a bonus action.

    Spending the ki point just turns the 1 strike into 2.

  4. #4
    Member
    Grandfather of Assassins (Lvl 19)



    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    5,114
    I seem to recall jc saying no to both

  5. #5
    Member
    Enchanter (Lvl 12)



    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    681
    Quote Originally Posted by VAPygott View Post
    2 Questions.

    Given that the rules say that the Flurry of Blows happens Immediately after the Attack Action.

    1) Can the monk move between the Attack Action and the Bonus Action if you use Flurry of Blows?
    2) Can the monk move between the unarmed strikes of the Flurry of Blows?
    Strictly speaking no, and no... maybe .

    You can split your movement before and after your action, so reasonably you could move, attack, finish move, bonus action.

    1. However, since Flurry of Blows specifically states "immediately after you you take the attack action,..." you cannot move first after the attack action. If you move, you are not using flurry of blows "immediately". If you take out the "immediately" key word, then yes you could. But it is there, so... no.

    2. You can only split up movement between attacks granted by the action. Since the attack is granted by a bonus action, you could argue no movement is allowed between the flurry of blows. Just the difference between an action and a bonus action. If you argue that the wording of action includes a bonus action, then sure.

    As a DM, I would rule no on both but it would hardly be a bad thing to rule the other way.

  6. #6
    Member
    Greater Elemental (Lvl 23)

    Blue's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Cedar Grove, NJ 07009
    Posts
    4,957
    Flurry of Blows
    Immediately after you take the Attack Action on your turn, you can spend 1 ki point to make two unarmed strikes as a bonus action.
    The "Immediately" does not refer to when you must spend the Bonus Action, it refers to when you must spend the Ki point.

    So you take an Attack action, must spend a Ki point immediately, can move, can spend a Bonus Action to get two attacks.

    On the other hand, you can break up you move before and after your action, and if you take an action that has multiple attacks you can move between. The rules say nothing about if you take a bonus action with multiple attacks. (All on PHB pg 190.) So by a strict reading you may not move between your Flurry attacks. As a DM, I'd allow it, I think it meets both RAI and RAF requirements.
    XP doctorbadwolf gave XP for this post

  7. #7
    Member
    Myrmidon (Lvl 10)



    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    430
    Yup, sounds fluffy to me, I'd allow it. It's an edge case anyway - if you can move between multiple attacks in an action it's ridiculous that you wouldn't be able to in a bonus action. I try to avoid that sort of RAW-related silliness when I can.
    XP Yaarel, Harzel, Dausuul gave XP for this post

  8. #8
    Member
    The Grand Druid (Lvl 20)



    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    C'ville
    Posts
    2,607
    In fact JC says you can:
    https://www.sageadvice.eu/2018/01/20...urry-of-blows/

    can a monk move between the hits of Flurry of Blows?
    Whenever you take an action that includes more than one weapon attack, you can move between those attacks if you have enough movement to do so. This rule applies to bonus actions, which are a type of action, and to unarmed strikes, which are weapon attacks.
    XP Yaarel, Azzy, Harzel, doctorbadwolf gave XP for this post

  9. #9
    dont worry about it, let your player have fun with an epic kung fu battle. this becomes most relevant for the drunken master, who gets a free disengage when using flurry, or open hand who gets specific options with flurry of blows. plus, you dont have to worry about reaction, if the enemy is stunned.

    I would say that 'immediately' means that after the attack, and before the bonus action, you have to declare and spend ki. a monk should use his bonus action every turn, but there are so many options that it can be hard to decide.

  10. #10
    Member
    Grandfather of Assassins (Lvl 19)



    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    5,114
    Quote Originally Posted by jaelis View Post
    I'm fairly certain he has ruled otherwise since then

Similar Threads

  1. Flurry of blows
    By jay9370 in forum *Pathfinder & Starfinder
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Friday, 25th August, 2006, 08:12 PM
  2. Flurry of Blows
    By Wippit Guud in forum *Pathfinder & Starfinder
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: Wednesday, 20th August, 2003, 02:51 PM
  3. flurry of blows
    By Corlon in forum *Pathfinder & Starfinder
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Thursday, 19th September, 2002, 08:46 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •