Search results

  1. N

    Divine Challenge: Switching targets means you don't have to engage?

    Well, I don't think it's horrible so much as an artifact of earlier design. Here's what I proposed, in spiffy power format: This version of the power is really not different from what we currently have, but I feel Divine Sanction is more clearly worded. If they were to republish PH1 with...
  2. N

    Divine Challenge: Switching targets means you don't have to engage?

    Interesting, the discussion we're having here was already touched upon in 6th thread you linked to. :)
  3. N

    Divine Challenge: Switching targets means you don't have to engage?

    To add fuel to the fire, I've participated in threads where this phrase was called into question: The text after "Also" was taken to apply *only* before the start of your next turn after you applied this power. According to this interpretation, the only effect of Divine Challenge that lasts...
  4. N

    Divine Challenge: Switching targets means you don't have to engage?

    "On your turn, you must engage the target you challenged or challenge a different target." So on your first turn, you target Bob. On your second turn, you target Joe. After you target Joe, the challenge on Bob is satisfied and goes away. The phrase now reads: "On your turn, you must engage...
  5. N

    Divine Challenge: Switching targets means you don't have to engage?

    As Hypersmurf said, as long as you engage the creature (either attack it or end your turn adjacent to it) you don't need to keep spending minor actions to "sustain" the challenge. Spend the minor action on your first turn and stay in the monster's face and you'll be golden for the entire...
  6. N

    Divine Challenge: Switching targets means you don't have to engage?

    If, in the previous round, you challenged an orc five squares away and didn't engage him, you can't use Divine Challenge this round. It's not clear that you engaged the orc last round, so I think you might need to clarify your questions a bit.
  7. N

    [Greyhawk] Rary

    It's possible that he and Robilar shared the same diabolical itineRary.
  8. N

    [Greyhawk] Rary

    Interesting... I never considered that the source of his evil might be liteRary.
  9. N

    [Greyhawk] Rary

    To be honest, I always felt his alignment shift was a little arbitRary.
  10. N

    Divine Challenge: Switching targets means you don't have to engage?

    Okay, so both of these quotes have impressed upon me the necessity of "or challenge a different target." However, I do feel "While the target is marked by the power, you must engage the target" would have been clearer. :) If you can't walk the walk, don't talk the talk.
  11. N

    Revised Monk Available in Compendium

    Well, they didn't change it so that versatile weapons can be used. They said weapons used with two-hands. If they said barbarian powers can be used with versatile weapons but don't specify that they can only be used with two-hands, a barbarian could use his powers while wielding a longsword in...
  12. N

    Divine Challenge: Switching targets means you don't have to engage?

    I'll have to think about it, but I'm not so sure it's necessary, since the second challenge immediately ends the first and frees you from the consequences of the first. I think it means a new target other than the one you currently targeted. It goes back to what "different target" refers to...
  13. N

    No Tiamat in Compendium / Monster Builder

    Huh, that's weird. Vecna is still in there, so they're not taking gods out. Perhaps it's because Tiamat may be getting updated because she's the final boss of Scales of War? I don't know if she is the final boss or not, but it seems likely.
  14. N

    Divine Challenge: Switching targets means you don't have to engage?

    Ugh, I'm trying to write this in a way that doesn't make my head swim and sounds logical, but I don't have the necessary skill to do either. Suffice to say that I feel "different target" refers directly back to the "target you challenged." So if you mark Joe, that means "on your turn, you...
  15. N

    Divine Challenge: Switching targets means you don't have to engage?

    I'm not sure who you're referring to by "some people," but if I'm included in that you misunderstand me. Like you, I take "if none of these events occur" to mean the original two choices given - engage or challenge someone else. The problem is, the moment you challenge a second monster, the...
  16. N

    Ressurection and Drama "Don't worry, we'll rez you after this"

    Pretty much. Here's the relevant bit from the Raise Dead ritual: So if the Raven Queen (that is, the DM) says no, it ain't happening. This came up in our game, once. A gnoll chieftan was assassinated, and one of the PCs said "Let's just raise him." It didn't work, because I said "As you...
  17. N

    Divine Challenge: Switching targets means you don't have to engage?

    Oh, duh, how did I forget that??? I had that in my mind when I initially wrote my post, but forgot it when I was trying to figure out the order of events. :) Okay, so now here's the way I see it: Round 1 - Paladin uses a minor action to DC monster 1. Because the paladin can't challenge a...
  18. N

    Divine Challenge: Switching targets means you don't have to engage?

    Actually, if I understand you, the way the rule is written you could initiate divine challenge on potentially every enemy on the battlefield. Round 1: Paladin DCs monster 1. Round 2: Paladin DCs monster 2. Because he challenged someone else, the DC on monster 1 is still up. Round 3: Paladin...
Top