Adventurer's Vault vehicle rules - several questions

Alex319

First Post
Question 1: It seems that there is a way to get unlimited speed out of any vehicle using the following method:

Assume a Speed 5 vehicle (but this will work for any speed)

Round 1: Two drive actions (5 squares each, for a total of 10)

Round 2: One stop action (moves the vehicle the distance moved the previous round, which is 10 squares) and then a drive action (5 more squares, for a total of 15)

Round 3: One stop action (15 squares, the distance moved last round) and a drive action (5 more squares, for a total of 20)

Round 4: One stop action (20 squares, the distance moved last round) and a drive action (5 more squares, for a total of 25)

and so on. Does this work, and if not, why not?

Question 2a: The rules under "Crashing and Ramming" say "if the target of the crash is more than one size category smaller than the out-of-control vehicle..." Does this apply if the initiating vehicle is not out-of-control, but is crashed intentionally?

Question 2b: The rules under "Crashing and Ramming" say what happens if the target is more than one size category smaller than the initiating vehicle, and also says what happens if the target is equal to or greater size than the initiating vehicle. What happens if the target is exactly one size category smaller than the initiating vehicle?

Question 3: Is it permissible to take a Drive action, and move the vehicle zero squares? (This would be useful if the vehicle was in motion, had moved the previous turn, had an out-of-control effect that would cause it to move, and would crash into an obstacle if it moved even one more square. Using a Drive action this turn to move zero squares and a Stop action next turn would be the only way to safely stop the vehicle.)

Question 4: Does a vehicle's controller have to actually use any vehicle control actions during a particular turn to prevent it from going out of control? (If the answer to this question is no, Question 3 is moot because a controller could just not use any VCAs and the vehicle wouldn't move that turn.)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Question 1
AWESOME. That is one poorly written rule... nice catch. I would change the wording of the first sentence of the Stop action to: "If the vehicle is currently moving due to a Turn or Drive action, move the vehicle forward a number of squares equal to the distance it moved during the aforementioned Turn or Drive action."

Question 2a: The rules under "Crashing and Ramming" say "if the target of the crash is more than one size category smaller than the out-of-control vehicle..." Does this apply if the initiating vehicle is not out-of-control, but is crashed intentionally?
I think crashing, purposely or not, implies being out-of-control, but that's my opinion.

Question 2b: The rules under "Crashing and Ramming" say what happens if the target is more than one size category smaller than the initiating vehicle, and also says what happens if the target is equal to or greater size than the initiating vehicle. What happens if the target is exactly one size category smaller than the initiating vehicle?
Again, nice catch. My ruling would be treat 'exactly one size category smaller' the same as 'more than one size category smaller'.

Question 3: Is it permissible to take a Drive action, and move the vehicle zero squares? (This would be useful if the vehicle was in motion, had moved the previous turn, had an out-of-control effect that would cause it to move, and would crash into an obstacle if it moved even one more square. Using a Drive action this turn to move zero squares and a Stop action next turn would be the only way to safely stop the vehicle.)
This seems very much against the spirit of the rules. The presence of the Stop action implies that this is the only way to stop a vehicle. But it should be spelled out for all the munchkins out there... good catch yet again.

Question 4: Does a vehicle's controller have to actually use any vehicle control actions during a particular turn to prevent it from going out of control? (If the answer to this question is no, Question 3 is moot because a controller could just not use any VCAs and the vehicle wouldn't move that turn.)
The second paragraph of the Out of Control section clearly states that not using a VCA on the vehicle causes it to go out-of-control.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top