Aftereffects question

Lets say you've got a feat like Superior Will, or an item like a Circlet of Arkhosia, and you get hit with a power that stuns you, with an aftereffect of being dazed.

At the start of your turn, you use SW or the Circlet to save against stunned. Now the aftereffect kicks in and you're dazed. Do you still get your normal end of turn save? I would think so.

Thanks!
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Yes- you always get end-of-turn saves unless something specifically denies them or lets you make one at a different time "in place of" your normal save.
 

In addition, if there is any negative effect for a failed save, it doesn't apply if you should fail of of this "extra" saves not at the end of your turn.
 


Eh? How do you follow that logic?
First of all, it's a very reasonable rule. It would be very strange if a character was punished by something that it's supposed to be beneficial. In any event, it's also an official rule:

Sometimes an effect changes as a target fails saving throws against it. The new effect, specified in a “First Failed Saving Throw” or a “Second Failed Saving Throw” entry, takes effect after the target fails a saving throw against the previous effect at the end of the target’s turn. The effect doesn’t change if the creature fails a saving throw against it at a time other than the end of its turn.
 

First of all, it's a very reasonable rule. It would be very strange if a character was punished by something that it's supposed to be beneficial. In any event, it's also an official rule:

Fair enough, though in many cases these effects are chained together such that it wouldn't make a difference (ex: stunned -> unconscious, etc). :)
 

Fair enough, though in many cases these effects are chained together such that it wouldn't make a difference (ex: stunned -> unconscious, etc). :)

This also applies to any out of end of turn save you get, negative effects never apply. The other main use of this is death saving throws :)
 

Any time you get a save-ends effect during your own turn you can save against it at the end of your turn. Aftereffects are no different.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top