Another dragon spellcaster question.

Dagredhel

Explorer
Do a dragon's spells (not spell-like abilities) require the normal verbal, somantic, and material components? Does an arcane version of a clerical spell require a focus?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Excellent question, I was wondering this myself. All it says in the MM is:

"A dragon knows and casts arcane spells as a sorcerer of the level indicated in its variety description, gaining bonus spells for a high Charisma score. Some dragons can also cast spells from the cleric list or cleric domains as arcane spells."

There's no MM errata on this particular tidbit.

I personally would give dragons the equivalent of the Eschew Components feat (T&B). I guess for spells where a component was very expensive or required (Trap the Soul) then I would rule they had to use it.

Especially with the larger dragons, I don't see how or where they could manipulate small material components.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top