Basilisk Petrification Question

Myrddyn

First Post
Hi,

I have a question about the basilisk's petrifying gaze...

The paladin of my player's group had a back streak of luck (after foolishly charging a basilisk that was sunbathing some few hundred feet of the road) and made a very bad save, turning him and his possesions to stone..

BUT amongst his possessions was a magical longsword.. A Hoardmaster (appeared in Dungeon some time ago I think...).. Now this is a +1 sword which acts (unknowingly to the player) as a scrying device for a powerful (benign) entity and which can be use to guard treasure (by creating a kind of treasure golem)...

So this is a Medium-strength magical weapon..

Now my question : Is this weapon also turned to stone or does it get a separate save or is it just unaffected ?

(For now I am thinking of using the latter... but bad fortune has separated me from my DMG, so I'd like to know the official ruling if possible...)

Thanks !
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad


Yeah but I assume that means any mundane items he carries... Otherwise that's pretty mean.. (What would happen to an artifact e.g. ? Stone too ???)
 

Myrddyn said:
(What would happen to an artifact e.g. ? Stone too ???)

Technically? Stone too. From the FAQ...

When a character fails a saving throw against a spell or other magical attack, all her items survive unless the spell or attack description says otherwise or the character rolls a natural 1 on the save.
 
Last edited:



Try not to snap off the sword by mistake while you are carting him around! Or, well, an arm or anything either, come to think of it.
 


Myrddyn said:
Yeah but I assume that means any mundane items he carries... Otherwise that's pretty mean.. (What would happen to an artifact e.g. ? Stone too ???)
No, it means all of them. An artifact, however, might have its own rule that would trump the effect.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top