Blade barrier question

Ovinomancer

No flips for you!
The description of blade barrier says that a creature that makes a successful save can choose which side of the wall he is one.
1) How does this work with the radius version of the spell?
2) What is the radius is 5' and is centered on a large creature?
3) If he can move, when does he move, on his action or immediately?

SRD said:
Blade Barrier
Evocation [Force]
Level: Clr 6, Good 6, War 6
Components: V, S
Casting Time: 1 standard action
Range: Medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level)
Effect: Wall of whirling blades up to 20 ft. long/ level, or a ringed wall of whirling blades with a radius of up to 5 ft. per two levels; either form 20 ft. high
Duration: 1 min./level (D)
Saving Throw: Reflex half or Reflex negates; see text
Spell Resistance: Yes
An immobile, vertical curtain of whirling blades shaped of pure force springs into existence. Any creature passing through the wall takes 1d6 points of damage per caster level (maximum 15d6), with a Reflex save for half damage.
If you evoke the barrier so that it appears where creatures are, each creature takes damage as if passing through the wall. Each such creature can avoid the wall (ending up on the side of its choice) and thus take no damage by making a successful Reflex save.
A blade barrier provides cover (+4 bonus to AC, +2 bonus on Reflex saves) against attacks made through it.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Ovinomancer said:
The description of blade barrier says that a creature that makes a successful save can choose which side of the wall he is one.
1) How does this work with the radius version of the spell?
2) What is the radius is 5' and is centered on a large creature?
3) If he can move, when does he move, on his action or immediately?

1) You're either inside the ring or outside it.

2) If it makes its save, it takes no damage, as long as it moves out of the damaging area at its next available opportunity.

3) As soon as it can take a move action. Probably on its next turn.
 

Here's an FAQ response on the subject:

Q: When do you make your save against a blade barrier spell? Suppose you have already moved in the round and someone casts a blade barrier spell on you. You are supposed to move out of the area in the most direct path to avoid damage from the spell. Since you’ve already moved, do you even get a save against the spell? If you make your save and cannot move yet, do you take damage from the spell anyway? Or do you get to move again? Or do you wait until it’s your turn and then make the save?

A: You make the save when the spell hits you. If you succeed, you take no damage from the spell, and you wind up on one side of the barrier or the other (under the current rules, the barrier must be vertical). Upon making a successful save, you choose which side of the barrier you’ll be on. If movement is necessary to place you on that side, you immediately move to that side along the shortest possible path, even if you’ve already moved that round. For Medium creatures, such movement will be fairly minor (usually 5 feet). In the case of very big creatures, the DM might want to limit the creature to the side that requires the least movement. If it’s not possible for you to move, or not possible to move to a safe side, you’re stuck in the barrier and you take damage.
 

Next question. Does movement mean A move action or could say Aperson on there next round action teleport away instead of moving and avoid the save the second round. Ie is he still considered in the blade barrier. My assumption is the spell does damage on the casters turn if the person is still in the area not on the targets turn.
 

Based on what shilsen found, I'd say no to teleport, unless you had a readied/held action. Otherwise, the way the FAQ reads, you basically get the movement as a gimmie as you dive for cover. Certainly unique to get free movement in D&D, but that's how it reads to me.
 

Greatwyrm said:
Based on what shilsen found, I'd say no to teleport, unless you had a readied/held action. Otherwise, the way the FAQ reads, you basically get the movement as a gimmie as you dive for cover. Certainly unique to get free movement in D&D, but that's how it reads to me.
Yes, that's what it says. So if you really, really need your party rogue to move 5 ft closer to the fight, cast a blade barrier in his area and hope he makes the Reflex save :D
 

Problem is, your rogue would probably need to be at least large size for that to come up. Not many big sneaky guys wandering around. Hmmm, maybe we just can't see 'em. ;)
 

Greatwyrm said:
Problem is, your rogue would probably need to be at least large size for that to come up. Not many big sneaky guys wandering around. Hmmm, maybe we just can't see 'em. ;)
Has vision of hill giant ranger hiding in plain sight in the middle of an open plain :D
 

You do not get free movement from making a reflex save.

On your turn you must move out of the area of effect by the shortest route. If you don't or can't you take damage on your turn.
 

Mahali said:
You do not get free movement from making a reflex save.

On your turn you must move out of the area of effect by the shortest route. If you don't or can't you take damage on your turn.

That's not what the FAQ says. (quoted above) Do you have a reference or argument for your position?
 

Remove ads

Top