• Welcome to this new upgrade of the site. We are now on a totally different software platform. Many things will be different, and bugs are expected. Certain areas (like downloads and reviews) will take longer to import. As always, please use the Meta Forum for site queries or bug reports. Note that we (the mods and admins) are also learning the new software.

Can Dual-Wielding Characters use Weapon Finesse?

JDeMobray

Villager
If I had a character, say a Drow elf, and he was using two finessable weapons to dual wield, could he get the finesse bonus with both of them?
 

MythandLore

Villager
JDeMobray said:
If I had a character, say a Drow elf, and he was using two finessable weapons to dual wield, could he get the finesse bonus with both of them?
As long as they are "light" weapons for his size he can.
Like if he used a rapier and a dagger or even a dagger and another dagger.
 

AGGEMAM

Villager
Re: Re: Can Dual-Wielding Characters use Weapon Finesse?

MythandLore said:
As long as they are "light" weapons for his size he can.
Like if he used a rapier and a dagger or even a dagger and another dagger.
Or two rapiers as my character does.
 

Kytess

Villager
Re: Re: Can Dual-Wielding Characters use Weapon Finesse?

MythandLore said:
As long as they are "light" weapons for his size he can.
Like if he used a rapier and a dagger or even a dagger and another dagger.
Close, but no cigar. ;)

You can finesse any light weapon, plus two others (if you're Medium-size): the rapier and spiked chain. Rapiers aren't light unless you're Large, but they're still finesseable.

Duel-wielding doesn't stop any finnessing you could normally do.
 

AGGEMAM

Villager
graydoom said:
As long as you can normally finesse it, you can finesse it when you dual-wield.
Actually that is excately what the original poster asked, and the only sensitive answer is, yes!

Compare!

If I had a character, say a Drow elf, and he was using two finessable weapons to dual wield, could he get the finesse bonus with both of them?
 

drnuncheon

Villager
Just in case all of the other simple "yes" responses aren't enough for you:

Finesse gives you a penalty if you've got a shield in your off hand, because it messes with your balance. That's the only reason I can think of that someone would say that you couldn't use a second finessed weapon in the of hand.

But, when you look at the rules, you see that the penalty given is equal to the Armor Check Penalty of the shield. Thus, a weapon (which has no check penalty) is perfectly OK.

This can get ridiculous - technically, by the rules, a 50lb bag of gold has no armor check penalty, and you can therefore have it in your off hand with no problem. Common sense is, as always, called for.

J
 

Advertisement

Top