Can I buy a magic healing potion on level 4?

scottchiefbaker

First Post
I want to buy a healing potion (or 3). Checking the players handbook they're $50 and are level 5. My character is level 4, do the item numbers correspond with my player level?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

No, while the DM is free to restrict items as deemed appropriate (you might find it difficult or impossible to find a dozen healing potions in a small farming village, for instance), PCs can acquire and use items above their level. Crafting is (mostly) restricted to items of your level or below, however.
 

The short answer: no. The less short answer: as long as you have the cash, you can use any item you find or buy. Remember that higher-level staring characters start with an item of their level +1 (so a level 6 starting character has a level 7 magic item). Basically, if you've bought it, use it!
 

I want to buy a healing potion (or 3). Checking the players handbook they're $50 and are level 5. My character is level 4, do the item numbers correspond with my player level?

As far as I know, there's no limitations as to what items your character can and can't have depending on level. The levels given to items are just supposed to be a guide for the DM to know roughly how powerful an item is, as well as how common an item should be. Also, when starting characters above level 1, they are given items depending on the items' levels.

In other words, the level isn't a limitation of any sort. If your character has enough money, he can buy anything that your DM makes available. Some DMs allow players to buy whatever they have money for (as I do), and some will limit you whether you have the money or not.

Edit: D'oh! So close to a triple-post.
 

if you're playing in a Living Forgotten Realms game (referring to an organized thing, as opposed to just your DM's own campaign or home-run forgotten realms game) I believe you are not allowed to have a magic item more than 4 above your level (i.e. if you're level 3, you can have up to a level 7 item, but can not have a magic item of level 8 or higher since that is more than 4 above your level).

But other than that - if your DM says it's available and you have the money for it, then you can buy it and use it.

The level notation is mainly for restriction on what you can create yourself and is also there to help guide the DM when he's placing "appropriate" treasure in an adventure.



(yes, i know everyone else already pretty much said the same thing, but i just wanted to add the "LFR" part just in case ...)
 
Last edited:

All correct answers and the explicit rules reference is PHB pg. 223 2nd paragraph. "There's no restriction on using or acquiring items based on their level..."
 

if you're playing in a Living Forgotten Realms game (referring to an organized thing, as opposed to just your DM's own campaign or home-run forgotten realms game) I believe you are not allowed to have a magic item more than 4 above your level (i.e. if you're level 3, you can have up to a level 7 item, but can not have a magic item of level 8 or higher since that is more than 4 above your level).

This may be OT but in LFR you may not use items >4 levels above your own though you may own them, if you find them.

You may not buy items above your level at all - which is why you find healing potions in the treasure bundles.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top