Dark Dragon
Explorer
Hi everybody,
just a simple question...assume a PC (halfling rogue), who is very enthusiastic using her light crossbow (with a rapid reload enchantment). To have the crossbow always ready to fire (and being to able to fire twice in the first round), she loads it with a bolt and then puts it into a Glove of Storing...so far, so problematic...
Our DM is a bit picky about the rules and says that putting a loaded crossbow into a GoS would mean to put two items into it (the crossbow and the bolt)...
As he is correct by the words (a GoS can hold only one item), I think he's a bit exaggerating. If he insists on ruling strictly word by word, a simple healing potion wouldn't go into a GoS, because it consist of a vial (glass, steel...), a stopper and the liquid (three items, to be very exactly), same for a lantern (made of steel, glass, oil, perhaps a mirror inside, and a wick....) or a spellbook (consists of many sheets of paper, clay, or copper...).
When I was DM, I ruled it that as long as there's an item in a GoS, you can't put in a second one. When the items are fixed together, they're one item (crossbow+bolt, sheets of paper for a spellbook, potion...), but that's just my interpretation.
Any ideas to handle it?
just a simple question...assume a PC (halfling rogue), who is very enthusiastic using her light crossbow (with a rapid reload enchantment). To have the crossbow always ready to fire (and being to able to fire twice in the first round), she loads it with a bolt and then puts it into a Glove of Storing...so far, so problematic...
Our DM is a bit picky about the rules and says that putting a loaded crossbow into a GoS would mean to put two items into it (the crossbow and the bolt)...
As he is correct by the words (a GoS can hold only one item), I think he's a bit exaggerating. If he insists on ruling strictly word by word, a simple healing potion wouldn't go into a GoS, because it consist of a vial (glass, steel...), a stopper and the liquid (three items, to be very exactly), same for a lantern (made of steel, glass, oil, perhaps a mirror inside, and a wick....) or a spellbook (consists of many sheets of paper, clay, or copper...).
When I was DM, I ruled it that as long as there's an item in a GoS, you can't put in a second one. When the items are fixed together, they're one item (crossbow+bolt, sheets of paper for a spellbook, potion...), but that's just my interpretation.
Any ideas to handle it?