Clerical Vampire Question

Taliseian

First Post
Sorry if this has been posted before....but I'm not a community member and can't use the Search function.

I'm getting ready to run a Cleric with the Vampire template and want to make sure about a proposed strategy..

Cleric casts Cause Wounds
Cleric does Melee Touch Attack
Cleric hits
Spell Effect Takes Place
Vampire Negative Energy Attack takes place

Is this correct AND is this allowed in a single round ?

I just want to make sure before I use this in my game.

Thanks



T
 

log in or register to remove this ad

No, that is not correct. Energy Drain only takes place when the Vampire uses his Slam attack. He'd have to cast the inflict spell, hold the charge until next round and then make an attack roll against the full AC. He'd deal both the regular slam damage plus the inflict damage plus the Energy Drain.

If he simply wanted to cast an inflict spell and use a regular touch attack to deliver it in the same round the only damage that would be done would be the inflict damage.

Edit: Clarified something.
 
Last edited:

You wouldn't have to wait until the next round, according to the rules clarification from sword and fist.

"Normally when you use a touch spell, you merely try to touch the enemy to discharge the spell. Alternatively, you can try to strike the enemy with an unarmed attack. It is harder to connect with a solid blow than a touch, but it is better if you succeed. Treat the attack as a normal unarmed attack (so most characters provoke attacks of opportunity when attacking this way). If the attack is a hit, you deal unarmed damage and discharge the spell. If the attack is a miss, you are still holding the charge."
 

Thanks for the clarifications but I have 2 other questions about this.

1) Can this be discharged on the Slam Attack?

2) If so, does this draw an AoO or not?

Again, thanks :)



T
 





Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top