Defenders and Opportunity attacks

Theroc

First Post
Playing a Warden in a game, and had a question occur to me, and figured I'd ask it here.

Warden class grants an attack if a marked opponent attacks anyone other than the Warden (either a melee attack or the ability to slide the enemy). Does using one of those powers count as one's 'Opportunity attack' for the round?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

No. Both powers are immediate interrupts, so they use the warden's immediate action for the round. If they counted as opportunity attacks, their blocks would list them as "Opportunity Actions."

Note that the term "one's 'Opportunity attack' for the round" isn't quite correct, as your opportunity actions refresh at the start of each combatant's turn, not just your own.
 

Playing a Warden in a game, and had a question occur to me, and figured I'd ask it here.

Warden class grants an attack if a marked opponent attacks anyone other than the Warden (either a melee attack or the ability to slide the enemy). Does using one of those powers count as one's 'Opportunity attack' for the round?

Nope, those are immediate actions (Fury is an interrupt, Grasp is a reaction). An opportunity attack is an opportunity action, which is a whole different beast. You get one immediate action per round (a cycle through the initiative order), and it can't be on your own turn. You get one opportunity action per combatant's turn. Two totally different things, and you can make both attacks during the same enemy's turn... so long as you haven't used any other immediate actions that round.

Edit: ninja'd!
 


Yes, they do, but probably not in the way you thought. You can only react once to each opponent on their turn, and this can either be an opportunity attack, or a reaction power. You can, however, make an opportunity attack on EACH opponent's turn, but you are restricted to only one reaction action per turn.
 

Yes, they do, but probably not in the way you thought. You can only react once to each opponent on their turn, and this can either be an opportunity attack, or a reaction power. You can, however, make an opportunity attack on EACH opponent's turn, but you are restricted to only one reaction action per turn.
Based on what? Opportunity actions and immediate actions are completely separate.
 

you are restricted to only one reaction action per turn.

As ForbidenMaster says, no such rule exists. You can take both an immediate action and an opportunity action in the same creatures turn, and in fact could even take both in response to the same action (assuming the first action doesn't make the second impossible, of course).

This occurs (though rarely). For instance, a creature marked by and adjacent to a fighter that makes a ranged attack against someone other than the fighter triggers both an opportunity attack (for making a ranged attack) and the fighter's Combat Challenge (for violating the mark) - it'd be a stupid thing to do, so it's not likely a common occurrence, but it's possible.
 

This occurs (though rarely). For instance, a creature marked by and adjacent to a fighter that makes a ranged attack against someone other than the fighter triggers both an opportunity attack (for making a ranged attack) and the fighter's Combat Challenge (for violating the mark) - it'd be a stupid thing to do, so it's not likely a common occurrence, but it's possible.

And your example was EXACTLY the sort of scenario I was wondering about.
 

Based on what? Opportunity actions and immediate actions are completely separate.

That was his point entirely; that the 'one per round thing' that OAs previously used have been taken by IAs.

Tho he is wrong about one thing; You're not restricted in reactions per turn. You can have an OAction and an IA triggered by the same action.

It doesn't happen often but when it does IT IS GLORY.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top