Devoted Defender Double-Dipping, Do-able or Dont-think-so?

two

First Post
Here are some nice abilities of the Devoted Defender:

____________________

Harm's Way
Beginning at 1st level, the devoted defender may elect to place herself in the path of danger in order to protect her single charge. Any time that you are within 5 feet of your charge, and your charge suffers an attack, you may switch places with your charge and receive the attack in his place. You must declare this before the attack roll is made. You select your charge when you roll initiative, and it is a free action to do so. You may not change your charge for the duration of that combat.

Defensive Strike
You can make an attack of opportunity against any adjacent opponent who attacks your charge in melee. You gain a +1 bonus to this attack for every two levels after 2nd.

Deflect Attack
Beginning at 3rd level, the devoted defender can attempt to parry a melee attack against her charge. She must be within 5 feet of her charge to attempt this and holding a melee weapon or shield to deflect the attack. Once per round when your charge would normally be hit with a melee weapon, you may make a Reflex saving throw against DC 20. (If the melee weapon has a magic bonus to attack, the DC increases by that amount.) You gain a competence bonus to your Reflex save as indicated on the chart. If you succeed, you deflect the blow as a free action. You must be aware of the attack beforehand and not flat-footed.

______________

So the question is, how do these interact with each other?

If a DD is defending his Charge, and his Charge is attacked by a Goring Boar, can the DD:

1) Switch places with Charge and take the Goring Boar attack himself and that's it?
2) Defensive Strike to get a free AOO on the boar and then get the Charge out of Harm's Way?
3) Defensive Strike AOO and then attempt to Deflect the Attack, and then if that fails Harm's Way?

Is Harm's Way exclusive, i.e. if you switch places with your Charge do you not then get an AOO vs. somebody attacking your Charge?

I don't want to penalize a high-level Devoted Defender, on the other hand, it's pretty nice if a DD can a) Defensive Strike, then b) Deflect Attack attempt, and finally c) if necessary, Harm's Way.

Or is this how it's supposed to work, and I'm just being a big wussy baby?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I think you get to choose either Harm's Way or both Deflect Attack and Defensive Strike. If you use Harm's Way, the attack is no longer against your charge and, therefore, Deflect Attack and Defensive Strike no longer apply.
 

By the rules, it looks like you can do defensive strike and either of the other two, but not both. Harm's Way says "before the attack roll is declared", and Deflect Attack says "when your charge would be hit" which implies the roll has already been made and you know your charge wasn't missed. Attacks of opportunity always happen "before" the thing that triggers them, anyway, so you can use that regardless.

-The Souljourner
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top