Do Some Creatures Effect Those Who Are Only Hit By Magical Weapons?

Aluvial

Explorer
I have run into a small problem with the game and can't find the answer to this rule.

Is there somewhere in the rules where it states that a certain creature based on its size or HD can start effecting opponents that can only be hit by some strength magical weapons?

Essentially can a dragon's natural attacks be considered a +1 weapon when trying to hit a creature that can only be hit by +1 weapons...

I swear I've read this rule at one point but in my old age, I am prone to forget these tiny bits... Was this a 2nd edition thing?

Aluvial
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I'm not sure where I read this but a creature that has DR +1/10 for example is considered to be able to do damage with its natural weapons as if they were +1 weapons. This is how creatures of the same type (gargoyles for example) can hurt each other.

I hope this makes sense.



:D
 

Well met!

From the SRD:
For purposes of harming other creatures with damage reduction, a creature’s natural weapons count as weapons of the type that can ignore its own innate damage reduction. The amount of damage reduction is irrelevant.

You should find this passage in the DMG under the heading "Damage Resistance" in the "Special Abilities" section.

Kylearan
 


One exception would be Incoporeal creatures.

Damage reduction will let you bypass another creatures DR if yours is greater than or equal to theirs, but it won't let you hit an incoporeal creature. You'd still need a magic weapon or Magic Fang/GMF.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top