Do totems need to be in hand?

Kzach

Banned
Banned
I had thought totems worked in the same way as holy symbols, ie. you just had to have them on you, not actually in hand.

But the Character Builder seems to require that you have it in hand. Given that it's not the most reliable source of info, I wanted to clarify whether or not I had to have it in hand to wield it.

If so... that really sucks and makes wielding a longspear pointless. It would've been cool, otherwise.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

From the Compendium:
IMPLEMENTS

Shamans use totems carved to resemble the spirits they most commonly call upon, particularly their spirit companions. When you wield a magic totem, you can add its enhancement bonus to the attack rolls and the damage rolls of shaman powers and shaman paragon path powers that have the implement keyword. Without an implement, you can still use these powers.
While searching for weapons in the Adventure's Vault 2; I believe you will find more than just this one.
Totemic Spear

Weapon: Spear
Property: Shamans can use this weapon as an implement for shaman powers and shaman paragon path powers.
Property: You can target any enemy within 2 squares of your spirit companion with attacks that have a range of “Melee spirit.”
 

While I do not have text about _totems_, a Holy Symbol is described as "unlike other implements, you do not need to hold this ..." (or something to that effect)

So the general rule appears to be that implements need to be held, and holy symbols provide the specific rule clause that breaks the general rule. I do not see similar wording about totems, hence _I_ would interpret it as meaning totems need to be held in a hand. Of course, I don't claim to be a rules expert, so take all that with a grain of salt (or pepper, your choice :) ).

To meet your concern, (as pointed out by dvorak above) there is a longspear that acts as both a weapon and totem.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top