Does A Rod of Corruption Really Work in the Off-hand?

I have a 12th level Warlock, Two-fold Pact, with it, and the rest of his powers & feats synergize well with it. But can you actually gain the benefit when using it in the off-hand? It seems, that it is assumed, you can? What is this assumption based upon? Or if it is the Dm's call, how and why do you rule it that way? Or am I way wrong, and you actually have to have a feat in order to do it?

I personally don't find it overpowered, but I do find it powerful.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

If you have the Dual Implement Spellcaster feat, definitely. If you don't, I would rule that properties of an implement in your off-hand are not triggered by use of your powers since you don't have the training to use such an implement.
 

Basically, yes, it works - because you don't actually trigger Corruption from an attack at all. It's just something that happens on anyone's turn, so sure, it's in your hand, you call it your active rod for when the curse triggers, poof, it spreads.

I kinda wish there was some incentive to have more than a +1 version of it, though.
 



From Wizards of the Coast:

"18. Can a Warlock benefit from holding two rods?

Yes, a warlock can gain the properties from two rods but he still can only use one to make an attack."

Found in their FAQ section of the PHB.

FAQ for the Player's Handbook!

However, just remember that errata prevents this from working with a Rod of Reaving.

"Rod of Reaving
Page 240: On the Property line, add “nonminion”
before “target.” This change prevents a character
from combining this item with a rod of corruption to
kill all minions in an encounter."

From http://www.wizards.com/dnd/files/UpdateMar2010.pdf
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top