Does grappling take two free hands?

Stalker0

Legend
In order to start a grapple, you need at least one free hand-that's preety clear. However, after that it only says that you cannot attack with a weapon unless its light. So can you grapple and keep a longsword in one hand-just not using it, or would you have to drop it? What about a free hand and a shield?

Also, let's say I have a short sword in my normal hand, if I attempt to grapple with my off hand, do I get off hand penalties?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

You use your whole body to grapple, unless you wanna take a -20. I'll see if I can find the relevant info in the FAQ.
 
Last edited:

Ah. Here it is...

Can a creature with two natural weapons, say two claws,
make two grapple attempts in a single round? Could a
character using the rules for fighting with two weapons pull
off the same trick? Exactly how many grapple checks can
you make each round?

&nbsp&nbsp&nbspYou can make one grapple check for every attack your base
attack bonus normally allows. The number of weapons you use
doesn't affect the number of grapple checks you can make. For
example, a dire ape, an animal with 5 Hit Dice, has a base
attack bonus of +3, so it can make only one grapple check each
round despite its three natural weapons. Note that when you opt
to deal damage with a grapple, you deal subdual damage
according to your size, not your natural weapon. For example, a
dire ape (a Large creature) deals 1d4 points of subdual damage
with a successful grapple attack, plus its Strength bonus of +6.
Note that creatures with the improved grab special attack can
use their natural weapons in a grapple. Note also that monk
characters deal their unarmed strike damage with successful
grapple checks. Monks and creatures with improved grab are
formidable grapplers.
&nbsp&nbsp&nbspThe normal grappling rules assume that the attacker uses
pretty much her whole body in the attack. (When you grapple,
you wrap your arms and maybe your legs around the foe.) You
can grapple while using a shield, but the shield's armor check
penalty applies to your grapple check.
&nbsp&nbsp&nbspIf the creature has the improved grab special attack, it can
opt to use only one appendage to make a grapple attack, but it
takes a -20 penalty on its grapple checks if it does so. A
character also could use the -20 option, but as you point out,
the character also would have to use the two-weapon fighting
rules. See Table 8-2 in the Player's Handbook, and remember
that a character's own hands are considered light weapons.
&nbsp&nbsp&nbspThe two-weapon fighting penalties apply to both grab
attempts and any grapple checks that occur after successful
grabs. The -20 penalty applies only to grapple checks. For
example, a character who has both the Two-Weapon Fighting
and Ambidexterity feats would take a -2 penalty on each grab
attempt and a -22 penalty on any grapple check she makes after
a successful grab.
&nbsp&nbsp&nbspOn her turn, the character can stop making separate grapple
checks with each hand and instead use both hands on one
opponent; if the character does so, neither the two-weapon
penalties nor the -20 penalty apply to grapple checks she
makes that turn.
 

kreynolds said:
Ah. Here it is...


Makes sense, except how come it says I can grapple and still attack with a light weapon?

Also, if an opponent grapples me, does that automatically mean I drop all my weapons?
 


Grapple rules in PHB state that you can attack with a light weapon during grapple... that implies that you can start a grapple with light weapons IMHO... If you can do so, I see no reason why you shouldn't be able to do it with two light weapons... somehow though it may seem unrealistic (add sarcasm).
 

Darklone said:
Grapple rules in PHB state that you can attack with a light weapon during grapple...

Right, but the FAQ entry doesn't. "It" can mean a lot of things.

Darklone said:
... that implies that you can start a grapple with light weapons IMHO...

An unarmed strike is a light weapon, and that's usually how you start a grapple, so yes. Or do you mean exotic weapons and such?

Darklone said:
If you can do so, I see no reason why you shouldn't be able to do it with two light weapons...

Well, unless you take a -20, you usually use both of your light weapons to grapple anyway.

However, I get the distinct feeling that I'm not catching your meaning here. :)
 

Here's the passage that's causing problems:

pg. 137 ph:

Other Grappling Options
"In addition to making opposed grapple check, you have a few other options while grappling

Weapons: You can attack with a light weapon while grappling (but not while pinned or pinning). You can't attack with two weapons while grappling."
 

I always took that to mean if you were grappled that you could make a normal attack if you had a light weapon in hand. But that if you wanted to initiate the grapple with a light weapon in hand then you would have to take -20 on the check. I hadn't really considered the natural attacks too much.
 

Legildur said:
I always took that to mean if you were grappled that you could make a normal attack if you had a light weapon in hand. But that if you wanted to initiate the grapple with a light weapon in hand then you would have to take -20 on the check. I hadn't really considered the natural attacks too much.

They -20 rules is only for creatures with improved grapple. And you might be right abou the light weapon, the problem is the passage isn't clear.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top