Domains and Non-Divine Casters

Abraxas

Explorer
A question that has just come up. A wizard meets the requirements for the Contemplative PrC (DotF pg 54). She gains access to one of her deity's domains or prestige domains. How does this affect her spellcasting?

Does she

a) get a single domain spell/spell level in addition to her normal spells per day

-or-

b) can she choose to prep domain spells as one (or more) of her normal allotment of spells per day?
 

log in or register to remove this ad



First of all, notice that when you become a Contemplative, you *must* gain spellcasting in a divine spellcasting class; if you don't have any divine spellcasting ability, you gain the ability to cast as a 1st level cleric.

The rules for oddities in regards to gaining a domain are listed before the list of prestige domains. In these rules, it states that a *non-cleric* who gains a domain gets to add the domain spells to his spells known. At this point, it becomes a matter of technicalities. I would say that anyone (such as a Contemplative) who casts *as* a cleric (even if not technically *being* a cleric) would not count as a *non*-cleric, and therefore, such a character would only apply the domain to his clerical spell-casting ability.

However, by a technicality, you might be able to get away with saying that a 10th level wizard/1st level contemplative is a non-cleric, and therefore, he gets to add the domain spells to his list of wizard spells known (and perhaps also gets to cast 1st level domain spells from this new domain with his brand new 1st level clerical spellcasting ability).
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top