druids

blaze_fontane

First Post
So, i was playing with a new group last night. I say new in the sense that they were new to me and my buddy who invited me to go with him. but everything going good then we enter combat , the druid s turn is up and he attacks with his long sword....i was like "what a druid with a long sword?" and they swore that it was in the rules an elven druid could use a long sword. am i completely crazy in my assumption that the druids have a restricted weapon list? because thats how ive always read the rules
 

log in or register to remove this ad

They used to have a restricted weapon list, but now their spiritual oaths only affect their choice in armour.

If a druid has proficiency in a weapon, they are able to use it without any penalty to their druid abilities.
 

And ... if it was an elven druid, Longsword would be on their list. And to be perfectly clear (although I assume this is what the poster above me meant to say) they are prohibited from metal armor and shields. But their is no prohibition on weapons.
 

This is new to 3.5, and in 3.0 I used to rant long and hard about how the druid's weapons should be proficiencies, not some weirdo spiritual oath. The old version punished non-medium-sized druids—a small druid had to use a scimitar in two hand, a large druid was royally screwed since it couldn't actually weild an appropriately sized scimitar, since a large scimitar is a falchion which isn't on the druid weapon list (this was also because of the old weapon size rules.)

Also druids technically couldn't weild an impovised weapon, so no throwing rocks a things....and that's just the tip of the crazy inconsistencies.
 


Here is an exact excerpt from PHb 3.5: "Druids are proficient with the following weapons: club, dagger, dart, quarterstaff, scimitar, sickle, shortspear, sling, and spear. They are also proficient with all natural attacks (claw, bite, and so forth) of any form they assume with wild shape (see below). Druids are proficient with light and medium armor but are prohibited from wearing metal armor; thus, they may wear only padded, leather, or hide armor. (A druid may also wear wooden armor that has been altered by the ironwood spell so that it functions as though it were steel. See the ironwood spell description, page 246) Druids are proficient with shields (except tower shields) but must use only wooden ones. A druid who wears prohibited armor or carries a prohibited shield is unable to cast druid spells or use any of her supernatural or spelllike class abilities while doing so and for 24 hours thereafter."
Therefore, if a druid does have pre-existing weapon proficiencies, she may use those weapons. This actually answered a question I had about a druid using a falchion, which is stated to be simply a large version of a scimitar.
 

A falchion is only a large scimitar in 3.0, 3.5 changed the weapons rules. And yes, weapons do not affect the druid's oath, only armor and shields.

Also, thread necromancy!
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top