Extra saves and Ill Effects

Griogre

Explorer
About the time the Warden came out I thought there either a FAQ or errata entry that said something like if you get an extra save then it is only to the PC's benefit. IE if there is an aftereffect it doesn't come into play when the PC blows a extra save someone gave him through a channel divinity or whatever. I can't find the text now. Did I just remember this wrong? If not can someone point me where the rule is?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

You are remembering it right. It's in the "failed saving throw" part of the "Reading a Power" rule update on page 219 of PHB2.
 


Technically, what it states is that only the end-of-turn save can have ill effects when not made. Of course, that should apply equally when the normal save gets moved to the beginning of the turn, as it does in some cases - the intent is obvious - only the regularly-scheduled save can cause you harm if you miss it.
 

One thing to remember tho.

Aftereffect is not the result of a failed save, but of a successful one. You cannot avoid aftereffect by succeeding at saving "out of turn."

The aftereffect will occur regardless.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top