Harrier Spell Question?

Aluvial

Explorer
This 4th level Cleric spell creates an incorporeal creature:

Harrier creates an incorporeal magical bird of prey the size of a dire bat (roughly 5 feet long with a 10-foot wingspan). This bird operates independently of the caster for the duration of the spell. When you invoke harrier, choose a target. The bird then attacks the target for the duration of the spell, or until the target dies... Fly 50 ft. ... Can pass through solid objects at will...
1) The range of this spell is close. Does this mean that the created harrier has to stay within the spells range or can it leave that area?

2) Can an incorporeal creature use its full movement when moving through solid structures?

3) And is there a rule anymore about certain creatures being able to hit a creature who can only be hit by a certain magical weapon type based on their size/strength/HD?

4) The spell says that the harrier will work independently of the caster. Does this mean that (if the harrier can leave the range) that it can and will pursue an opponent till the duration of the spell and over any distance?

5) Is this spell only good for one opponent OR can you direct it to others?

6) Does the harrier know where its enemy is at all times? In other words, if the opponent moves faster and takes many turns through a dungeon, will the harrier know the opponents location and be able to move towards it in a straight line even if the opponent is out of sight?

Thanks for the help,

Aluvial
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Aluvial said:


2) Can an incorporeal creature use its full movement when moving through solid structures?

3) And is there a rule anymore about certain creatures being able to hit a creature who can only be hit by a certain magical weapon type based on their size/strength/HD?


Ok the answer to #2 is yes.

The answer to #3 is yes there is such a rule. I had reasked this question on this board. The answer is that a creature's natural attacks are considered to be equal to its own DR score when attacking opponents with DR.


But this leaves the other 4 quesitons still unanswered....

Aluvial
 

Aluvial said:
This 4th level Cleric spell creates an incorporeal creature:

This is from Defenders of the Faith - it helps to mention that if it's from a non-core book.

Aluvial said:

1) The range of this spell is close. Does this mean that the created harrier has to stay within the spells range or can it leave that area?

PHB 157: "The creature or object [created or transported to your location by a conjuration spell] must appear within the spell's range, but it does not have to remain within the range."

Aluvial said:
4) The spell says that the harrier will work independently of the caster. Does this mean that (if the harrier can leave the range) that it can and will pursue an opponent till the duration of the spell and over any distance?

Yep. It also means that you don't have to spend actions to tell it what to do.

Aluvial said:

5) Is this spell only good for one opponent OR can you direct it to others?

Only one opponent. If you could redirect it, the spell would note it specifically.

Aluvial said:

6) Does the harrier know where its enemy is at all times? In other words, if the opponent moves faster and takes many turns through a dungeon, will the harrier know the opponents location and be able to move towards it in a straight line even if the opponent is out of sight?

Normal birds of prey do not have this ability, and the spell does not specifically grant it, so no, the harrier would not be able to automatically move in a straight line towards the target, and could be misled, lost, or fooled.

J
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top