hammymchamham
First Post
If I use a empowered fireball heightened to a 9th level spell, whats the Save DC? As a 9th level spell or as a 7th?
MikeHeighten Spell [Metamagic]
Benefit: A heightened spell has a higher spell level than normal (up to 9th level). Unlike other metamagic feats, Heighten Spell
actually increases the effective level of the spell that it modifies. All effects dependent on spell level (such as saving throw DCs
and ability to penetrate a minor globe of invulnerability) are calculated according to the heightened level. The heightened spell
is as difficult to prepare and cast as a spell of its effective level.
AuraSeer said:the Jester is correct.
You first Heighten the spell to 7th level, changing the DC. Then you Empower it, making it a 9th-level spell with the save of a 7th.
the Jester said:I'd rule 7th. Otherwise, when you heighten a spell, you get all the other metamagics you can slap on it for free (up to the level adjustment of the heighten).
Merlion said:That would defeat the purpose of Heighten Spell though...since raising the DC is all it does
Say what? You do get the higher DC, for the amount you Heightened by. But adding other metamagic feats does not increase the DC any more.Merlion said:Just saying why bother to heighten and maximize if your not gonna get the higher dc...unless you know your gonna be dealing with globes of invulnerability.