Hey, can that frog teleport?

Piratecat

Sesquipedalian
If you cast polymorph other on a creature, does it lose access to its Supernatural and Spell-like abilities?

I probably should know this. But I checked the errated version of poly other in Tome & Blood, and didn't see a reference to it. I know that you can cast spells if you have the hands and voice, and I know that you don't gain the abilities of the creature you turn into - but how about your own Su and Sp powers?

Thanks! I have this image of a demon polymorphed into a frog, teleporting without error all over the battlefield and letting lose with fireballs....
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

You lose supernatural abilities, but not spell-like abilities. The confusion is very understandable - Polymorph has been errata'd, nerfed, beefed up, re-written, and then the errata needed errata. :D

So the demon can teleport around and throw fireballs. Have you thought of using the revised pit fiend? :)
 


The revised description does say that you retain your "type, extraordinary abilities, spells, and spell-like abilities, but not its supernatural abilities."

So your demon could teleport and fireball to his heart (or whatever)'s content.

Hop-bampf-ribbit-boom!
 

Weird. So no DR, huh? And presumably that means that if the demon could polymorph itself, it could just regain its own form.

Not that it would, mind you; everyone likes teleporting frogs!
 
Last edited:


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top