"How many roads..." - Command word question

Greenfield

Adventurer
Per the rules...
SRD said:
Command Word: If no activation method is suggested either in the magic item description or by the nature of the item, assume that a command word is needed to activate it. Command word activation means that a character speaks the word and the item activates. No other special knowledge is needed.
A command word can be a real word, but when this is the case, the holder of the item runs the risk of activating the item accidentally by speaking the word in normal conversation. More often, the command word is some seemingly nonsensical word, or a word or phrase from an ancient language no longer in common use. Activating a command word magic item is a standard action and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.
I see a conflict in this description.

On the one hand it says that you can activate such an item accidentally. On the other hand it says that it's a standard action.

So the next question is, if any use of the command word can activate it, even accidentally in a conversation, how many items can be activated by the same command word in a single round?
 

log in or register to remove this ad



yes, and while easy to recall and useful in some situations, makes it difficult to then limit WHICH items are thus triggered.

the more interesting question is saying a word/sentence is a free-action per RAW except when it triggers a magical effect when it becomes a standard action.
 

As a DM, I would ignore the "accidental triggering" line completely, to simplify things.
I agree. I assume that what the author was trying to say is that outside of combat, when you aren't keeping track of actions and the holder of the item isn't doing something else that uses up his standard action for "that round," the holder might accidentally trigger the item...but that still doesn't answer the question: if it's so easy to activate a command word item, why does it require a standard action in combat?

I've never actually seen anyone try to invoke the "accidental activation" rule in play. It seems that everyone just ignores it.
 

I agree. I assume that what the author was trying to say is that outside of combat, when you aren't keeping track of actions and the holder of the item isn't doing something else that uses up his standard action for "that round," the holder might accidentally trigger the item...but that still doesn't answer the question: if it's so easy to activate a command word item, why does it require a standard action in combat?

I've never actually seen anyone try to invoke the "accidental activation" rule in play. It seems that everyone just ignores it.
Perhaps it was simply built in for RP flavor?
 

I usually go around that by requesting that the word needs to say in a specific rhythm or tone. So accidental activation can only happen if the PC is stupid enough to demonstrate.
 

I think all magic items should be keyed with the command words "Go Go Gadget!"

Exceptions should include a roped Magic Harpoon with the Returning property keyed to the expression "Get Over Here!" and a Daern's Instant Fortress that opens to the words "Ding Dong, The Witch Is Dead." (The last one is something one of my players used, priceless.)
 

The question remains though, how many items can be activated, by accident or on purpose, with a single utterance?

I'm having visions of someone's coat or pouch suddenly erupting with multiple magical effects at the worst possible moment.
 

Per the rules...

I see a conflict in this description.

On the one hand it says that you can activate such an item accidentally. On the other hand it says that it's a standard action.

So the next question is, if any use of the command word can activate it, even accidentally in a conversation, how many items can be activated by the same command word in a single round?

Not necessarily RAW, but you could rule that it takes a standard action to activate the item in a controlled way. The fireball goes where you want it, the cure light wounds actually affects the person you touch, etc.

Activating it in an uncontrolled way causes it to randomly activate, so the fireball has equal chances of landing at your feet, going north/east/south/west/up/down/ and so on.

As for activations per round, I believe there is a different rule that states any given item can only be activated once per round. Not sure where it is, but I seem to remember something along those lines. Even absent such a rule, I'd only allow a single item to be activated once per round, unless the item specifically says otherwise.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top