Initiative when mounted

Simple question, I think.

I'm going to be playing a mounted gnome paladin soon. It's going to be a lot of fun (and by lot of fun I mean spirited charge critical hit smite evil fun).

If a combat erupts and I'm on my faithful steed, do I use my initiative only? My steed's? Do I roll both and act on the worse one?

There are a lot of quirky situations... If someone could clear this for me (or point me towards the appropriate quotes) I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks in advance,

AR
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I've played the same character concept you are about to play. Gnome Paladin on a Riding Dog. Spirited Charge and all.

The rule we use (may be house, I don't know) is to just roll one init and have the mount act on the same init as you do. If mounted, you take on the movement of the mount.
 

Your steeds or your own initiative, whichever is lower.

Because you can't begin directing your mount before your turn, and your mount can't (or actually wont) move until directed.
 

"Your mount acts on your initiative count as you direct it", PHB pg.157. Amazingly enough, it's in the Mounted Combat section ;)
 

I prefer one roll of the die, useing the riders score.

After all, there are generally enough drawbacks with riding that having another one thrown in is just bad ;)

edit: woo! go me and my following-the-rules self ;)
 
Last edited:


shilsen said:
"Your mount acts on your initiative count as you direct it", PHB pg.157. Amazingly enough, it's in the Mounted Combat section ;)

That's the 3.5 PHB, correct?

Likewise, this appears in the 3.5 SRD. I guess I'll use this since there is no such information for 3.0...

Thanks all.

Just to be clear on the rules:

"You move at its speed, but the mount uses its action to move" and "Likewise, you can take move actions normally".

So, when mounted, I can, in a single round:
- Move at my mount's speed
- Take a move-equivalent action
- Take a standard action (like attacking)

In essence, being mounted lets you take an additional move-equivalent action each round?

I'm going to love my Gnome Paladin! ;)

AR
 

Altamont Ravenard said:
That's the 3.5 PHB, correct?

Yes.

Just to be clear on the rules:

"You move at its speed, but the mount uses its action to move" and "Likewise, you can take move actions normally".

So, when mounted, I can, in a single round:
- Move at my mount's speed
- Take a move-equivalent action
- Take a standard action (like attacking)

In essence, being mounted lets you take an additional move-equivalent action each round?

I'm going to love my Gnome Paladin! ;)

AR

Yes, you can take a move action while benefiting from your mount's movement.
 

A little off-topic...

Your gnome is going to do 2 hp less damage due to size and strength. With spirited charge, that's 6 hp less damage each hit, compared to a dwarf, human, half-elf or elf. 9 hp less damage than a half-orc. The damage difference is greater if you're wielding the lance two-handed.

Of course, riding dogs fit in dungeons better than horses :)
 


Remove ads

Top