Magic Implements, Crits and Attacks that Don't Do Damage

the Jester

Legend
If I score a critical hit with cause fear (or some other power that doesn't do damage) with a holy symbol +1 ("Critical: +1d6 damage per plus"), does it deal 1d6 damage even though cause fear doesn't normally deal damage at all?

This exact situation came up tonight. I ruled that it would deal the damage as an 'on-the-spot, keep 'er moving' ruling, but would like to gather opinions.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

No damage. See the third paragraph in PHB 225 of the Critical section.

"An attack that does not deal damage still does not deal damage on a critical hit."
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top