Mastery of Counterspelling & Counterspell your own spells

Derren

Hero
A player in a high level group with the Reactive Counterspell feat has the habit of counterspell his own spell if they go awry (like when they got spellturned). I know, he has to declare the counterspelling before he knows if the spell is counterspelles and I have informed the DM about this mistake.

But there are some other questions:
This player is also an archmage with the Mastery of Counterspelling ability. (When he counterspells a spell, they get deflected at the caster like affected by spell turning)
Now what happens if he dispels his own spell after it was deflected back at him (theoretically) and what if it wasn´t deflected back?

And, can an archmage turn the B]Mastery of Counterspelling[/B] ability on and of? If not, what happens if he dispels a self spell the enemy caster was about to cast at himself?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

This just doesnt work out. Read the rules.
You cant cast a spell of your own and dispel it on the same round.
(with haste it is possible but not anymore)
 

Reactive counterspelling feat would allow it, though he would lose an action in the next round.

Derren I'd imagine an Archmage would have full control of his facilities (or else he wouldn't be an archmage hmm?) and can control their own special abilities. If he doesn't want to turn the spell back he doesn't have to.
 

I wouldn't allow him to counter his spells once he finds out what defences the target has.
You have to counter the spell as it's being cast, not after it's hit someone.

Geoff.
 

Counter your own spell???

To counter a spell you have to do it as the spell is being cast, no matter how many actions you have in a round I don't how see how you could perform two such complicated ones at exactly the same time. Once a spell has been cast it's too late.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top