Moving grabbed target into fire ...

karooba

First Post
If an attacker is currently grabbing a target and wants to use a standard action to move it into a fire which does 2d10 damage, does the target get a saving throw? Also, is the attacker required to move into the fire also, or can it just hold the target in there while staying clear of the flames?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I would say no to the saving throw - this isn't instant death (like pushing them off a cliff, for instance). Pushing a foe into a fire is a nice set piece to a battle, giving the players more options - so it's all good to me.

As far as how to do it, I would look at the bull rush rules (i.e., Strength vs. Fortitude attack, on success push the foe one square). And no, in that case the grabber doesn't need to go into the fire.
 

I would say no to the saving throw - this isn't instant death (like pushing them off a cliff, for instance). Pushing a foe into a fire is a nice set piece to a battle, giving the players more options - so it's all good to me.
This contradicts the rules pretty explicitly... You get a save against any forced movement that brings you into "hazardous terrain" - not just forced movement that would kill you.

-O
 

This contradicts the rules pretty explicitly... You get a save against any forced movement that brings you into "hazardous terrain" - not just forced movement that would kill you.

-O
I notice you have hazardous terrain in quotes. Please define that term for me, I'd love to hear it.
 

I notice you have hazardous terrain in quotes. Please define that term for me, I'd love to hear it.
Well, having not cracked the book open for my previous answer, I realize the proper term was "hindering terrain."

Check pages 44 and 66 of the DMG. (FYI, "fire" is one of the examples of hindering terrain which would allow a saving throw.)

-O
 

Hindering terrain is the right term, and is terrain that can prevent movement, punish it, or damage creatures that enter the terrain.

So, a fire that is part of the encounter map is hindering terrain.

A fire that is a wall shaped conjuration or zone created by a power is -not- terrain and is not therefore hindering terrain.

Terrain that assigns a condition but no damage to someone entering it is also hindering terrain, and counts.
 

A fire that is a wall shaped conjuration or zone created by a power is -not- terrain and is not therefore hindering terrain.

Rules quote for this?

A solid wall spell is not blocking terrain?

A spell that creates a pit does not create precipitous terrain?


Where is there a rule that only DM placed objects result in terrain?
 

Rules quote for this?

A solid wall spell is not blocking terrain?

A spell that creates a pit does not create precipitous terrain?


Where is there a rule that only DM placed objects result in terrain?
Powers do exactly what they say they do. If the power doesn't say that it creates hindering terrain then it doesn't.

Would you call Wall of Fire or Crushing Titan’s Fist 'Difficult Terrain' because they are difficult to walk through?
 

Powers do exactly what they say they do. If the power doesn't say that it creates hindering terrain then it doesn't.
This is a misread. Hindering terrain isn't a keyword -- it's a description of any square that has certain properties.

Would you call Wall of Fire or Crushing Titan’s Fist 'Difficult Terrain' because they are difficult to walk through?

Difficult terrain is a keyword. There's no such thing as "hindering terrain" on a map -- there are squares that hinder. You're protected against having forced movement resulting on opportunity attacks because the rules say so; for things that aren't opportunity attacks (eg, hindering terrain), you get a saving throw. The same for the monsters.

A grey area, IMO, is forced movement that moves you into an aura.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top