Need some help with 4e GSL....alternate magic item system

Stalker0

Legend
For those who have really read through the new GSL, have a question.

I've been pondering creating an alternate magic item system, and would be altering current magic items as part of it.

How much information from the original magic items can I display before its a no no by GSL terms?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

That's easy: once you reuse the NAME of the magic item, you are in jeopardy. For example "Berserk Weapon" is listed in the GSL SRD. That means you cannot name any magic item "Berserk Weapon" unless the item in question is exactly the "Berserk Weapon" found in the 4e PHB. Of course even more interesting is "magic weapon" is listed in the SRD. It refers to a magic weapon with an enhancement bonus and no other abilities. So be careful how you make references to a "magic weapon".

Also note that Item Slot is in the SRD along with Arms, Feet, etc. So you can't change these definitions either.
 
Last edited:

In what context? Are you planning on publishing this thing?

If not, then don't worry about it.

If so, then you REALLY need to read and understand the GSL. You're entering a different arena, and asking for basic advice on a messageboard ain't a good thing on so many levels! :D

Basically, you can't change the definition of a defined term. You need to create your own item with your own name. It can be very similar; just don't change that defined term.

Finally - moved to the right forum. :)
 
Last edited:

I very much believe the answer is none. You can not (or at least should not) use any text from the orriginal magic items.
Making your own items is definately the better idea for this progect.
 

Well it's actually kind of hard to say based on the limited amount of info on what you are giving. Generally speaking if it is a "defined term" in the SRD you can't touch it, other than to add to, but not redefine (which depends on who you talk to since by a strict interpretation even adding to is redefining).

You can say that XX and YY doesn't exist in your system and then give reasons why.

If you give some concrete examples we can give some better advice. Or you can just dump the GSL alltogether and do it as a fan-based work. Generally WotC isn't going to come after "pure" fan based work.
 

You can say that XX and YY doesn't exist in your system and then give reasons why.

Hey Paul! I'm probably walking on the edge of Crosspost Cliff (since this related to another post I've made in this forum) but can I inquire as to your source/reasoning for this statement? I don't mean to attack or question the statement by any means, but your point speaks to my some of my own GSL concerns and I'd appreciate any background you can give on this topic.

Disclaimer: I'm not a lawyer, I assume that you're not a lawyer, and even if you were a lawyer I know that your posts here don't constitute legal advice or create an attorney/client relationship between the two of us. I also know that when the rubber hits the road my most important GSL questions are better answered by an attorney in my employ than by a post on ENWorld--I'm just engaging in strictly non-professional discussion of the GSL here :)
 

GSL FAQ said:
Q: Do I have to use the Defined Terms in my product?
A: No, you are not required to use any specific Defined Term although it would be
difficult to avoid using them. You are, however, required to reprint the legal text
identified in the GSL.

Q: Can I extend the definition of a Defined Term?
A: Yes, as long as you do not change the substance or the meaning of the definition. For example you may add a new use for the Athletics skill as this does not redefine the whole skill.

Q: Section 4.1 states that, “Licensee will not define, redefine, or alter the definition
of any 4E Reference in a Licensed Product.” What does this mean?
A: This means you that if you want to use a 4E Reference listed in the GSL SRD (for example, Dragonborn), you must not alter the definition in such a way as to define or redefine, or alter the definition as found in the Player’s Handbook (e.g. “Classes that use Dragonborn get an additional +1 to Strength and +1 in Intimidate). You may, however, extend a definition by adding to the original content. As an example: “...if you want to play a Dragonborn please refer to the Race Chapter of the 4th Edition Player’s Handbook. For a Greatmountian Dragonborn take and additional +1 Strength and +1 in Intimidate.”

The most telling in my mind is the first one. And there is a post by Scott somewhere where he was asked and he said that you could omit and extend any Defined Terms and References you wanted, you just couldn't re-define.

Of course by strict definition any addition to them technically redefines them but since WotC has said that it's okay then it's okay. :)
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top