New Statblock Layout and Immediate actions


log in or register to remove this ad

It's neither - it just happens. Much like later dragon breath weapons, but deathburst is almost never an immediate (or any kind of action) at all.

It is a little odd that they moved the free/no part to later in the stat block, you'd think right at the start would be good, but eh.
 
Last edited:

So, I'm looking at the Abyssal Scavenger statblock in the new Ampersand article, and I notice the "Triggered actions" section.

It doesn't specify whether the actions, when triggered, are IR or II.

Is this intentional? Are these new/changed terms?
They appear to be "No Action" and a "Free Action", respectively (in brackets under Effect). I'd assume that if they where IR or II it would be indicated in the same place.
 



And here i again have to pass:

is the resistance applied for the triggering attack or not!

I still believe free actions should be free reactions or free interrupts, just as immediate actions can be immediate reactions or immediate interrupts.
 

Depends on whether they declare variable resistance before or after you deal the damage to them. I'd imagine in most cases they'll declare it when you make the attack with the energy, thereby gaining it beforehand, but they might want to wait for some reason (so as to not be faked out by a low damage attack of one type, say)

Free Actions happen as soon as you do them. They're neither reactions nor interrupts. There certainly could (and should) be an FAQ on them, and maybe even a splitting of terminology.
 

?

Depends on whether they declare variable resistance before or after you deal the damage to them. I'd imagine in most cases they'll declare it when you make the attack with the energy, thereby gaining it beforehand, but they might want to wait for some reason (so as to not be faked out by a low damage attack of one type, say)

Free Actions happen as soon as you do them. They're neither reactions nor interrupts. There certainly could (and should) be an FAQ on them, and maybe even a splitting of terminology.

This really doesn't clear things up...
Their Variable Resistance power triggers on them taking the damage. They can't 'declare Variable Resistance' before they are dealt the triggering damage. Thus, they have to take the damage. By the time they use the Free Action to gain resistance, it doesn't matter for that attack, as the damage has already been done. If it were labeled as an Immediate Interrupt instead of a Free Action, then the damage clearly is resisted. If it were labeled an Immediate Reaction, the damage clearly is not resisted. Free Action? Ambiguous. In my game, they will get the resistance for the triggering attack, as it seems that this is what is intended, but I'm still not sure on RAW.
Later!
Gruns
 



Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top