PbP DM Question

ahayford

First Post
Hey guys,

I've been DMing a pbp game for a few months now and have really been enjoying it. However, I have come across a sticking point in the mechanics of running these games that I have yet to solve. Sometimes I'll get players that aren't responding because they don't necessarily want to do anything additional or another player more or less covered what they wanted to do, but I'll be waiting to advance the scene to try and allow everyone to have the option of doing something. Frequently I end up waiting extra days that I really didn't need to. I don't want to have to clutter up the thread with (I do nothing) posts. Adding comments to the DM post that they are ready to advance might be a good solution if it weren't for the fact they were tied into the XP system. Any thoughts?

Does anyone have a good solution for this

Kalontas

First Post
Quite a quick reply - just have them do some "idle gesture"? Like, correcting the sword or something - so they essentially do nothing, give you a sign there's nothing left for them to do, but still post something.

Still, it's a problem inherent to PbP.

Voadam

Legend
Don't wait. Keep things moving. If it is combat you have them do a basic attack with nothing fancy or hold their action in the fog of war. If it is roleplay stuff keep it going with those who are participating.

Multiday lags are worse in a pbp than one PC missing an extended late opportunity to jump in to potentially contribute equally to what others have posted on time. Most people don't want to hold up the game for others.

IronWolf

blank
Don't wait. Keep things moving. If it is combat you have them do a basic attack with nothing fancy or hold their action in the fog of war. If it is roleplay stuff keep it going with those who are participating.