I recently read a DMs Guild adventure that included a poison needle trap, and I found the wording ambiguous. At first I assumed it was the author's poor choice of wording, but I later found that it was mostly a copy-and-paste from the trap rules in the SRD:
Here's my problem: the final line, "Unsuccessfully attempting to pick the lock triggers the trap," could be taken to mean that *successfully* attempting to pick the lock *doesn't* trigger it. But picking the lock would count as opening it without the proper key, and an unsuccessful attempt to pick the lock wouldn't allow it to be opened in any case. The only way I can think of to reconcile these two statements is that *any* attempt to pick the lock, successful or otherwise, will trigger the trap unless it's already been disarmed. Is that how other people interpret it?A poisoned needle is hidden within a treasure chest’s lock, or in something else that a creature might open. Opening the chest without the proper key causes the needle to spring out, delivering a dose of poison.
When the trap is triggered, the needle extends 3 inches straight out from the lock. A creature within range takes 1 piercing damage and 11 (2d10) poison damage, and must succeed on a DC 15 Constitution saving throw or be poisoned for 1 hour.
A successful DC 20 Intelligence (Investigation) check allows a character to deduce the trap’s presence from alterations made to the lock to accommodate the needle. A successful DC 15 Dexterity check using thieves’ tools disarms the trap, removing the needle from the lock. Unsuccessfully attempting to pick the lock triggers the trap.